Interact with BEYOND_INDIGO
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

All through my teen years, I was a comfortable UK size 12. But as a teenager, I foolishly believed that I was 'naturally thin' and could get away with eating whatever I wanted (this included a LOT of chocolate). Now, at almost 23, I'm up to a UK size 16 and I have a mental barrier about buying size 18 clothes, so I figured it was time to try and lose some weight!

Having previously bought clothes to show off my curvy but slim figure, for the least few years I have been buying clothes according to just one criterion - how well does this garment hide the bulges? I knew things were getting silly when I realised I wasn't comfortable undressing in front of my partner. I decided something had to change. I also hope to graduate from University this summer, and it would be a happy bonus to look good in my graduation shots.

My boyfriend has been very supportive, telling me that I look fine the way that I am - but he knows that I want to do this for ME, as *I* do not like being the size that I am. I also need to get my heart and lungs in shape - after years of living a sedentary lifestyle, I get puffed at the slightest exertion, and with a family history of heart disease...I really need to get active and healthy, for more reasons that one.

I am following what I think is pretty much a common-sense diet - low fat and low-GI eating, and counting calories as much as possible. It astounds me that I was never taught about calories in high school. Now that I understand my Guideline Daily Amounts, and the effect that food can have on blood sugar levels and so forth, I'm actually finding it quite easy and satisfying to stay within a range of about 1200-1500 calories a day. I am also doing aerobics most days, for a minimum of 30 minutes, and cutting down portion sizes on what I eat too. I started on 25/02/08 at a weight of 11st 4 (71.8kg) and a BMI of over 28. My goal is to drop 30lbs by the summer and get to a healthy BMI. Wish me luck!

Member Since: 2/19/2008

Fitness Minutes: 455

My Goals:
* To be fit and healthy
* To reach a healthy BMI
* To drop 30lbs

My Program:
Low-fat, low-GI dieting, and calories counting whenever possible, to try and stay within the range of 1200-1500 cals per day. Aerobic exercise for a minimum of 30 minutes most days.

Personal Information:
I am a 22 year old University student from York, in the UK. I work part-time and also volunteer for charity. I have two pet chinchillas who I spoil rotten. I am lucky enough to be with a kind, genuine, talented guy who supports my weight-loss effort while at the same time telling me everyday that he likes me no matter what the scales say :)

Other Information:
I like to read, a LOT. I'm passionate about human rights around the world and doing my bit for charity. I am very interested in foreign languages and cultures.

Read More About BEYOND_INDIGO - Profile Information moved here.

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
This user doesn't have any public blog entries.
20 Somethings with 25-49 Pounds to Lose!          
My Ticker:
Login to Leave Comment
  • This user doesn't have any comments.