Social Workers,...

Baseball Glove


Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

Welcome to my page! This certainly isn't my first rodeo in the weight-loss world. I wasn't a heavy kid or adolescent. In college, I began putting on weight—and beyond the freshman 15. I continued to gain weight after school. I learned that I have a hypoactive thyroid, which accounted for a great deal of my weight gain—although, to be fair, my own poor eating and exercise habits certainly didn't help.

After months of working at it, my medication for my thyroid disorder was finally regulated. I used Weight Watchers, and was able to drop down to about a really good weight. It was awesome! It was such a great feeling receiving compliments, buying smaller and smaller clothes, and liking the person I was seeing in the mirror more. After losing the weight, I was able to maintain my weight and healthy eating habits for about three years.

About two years ago, I met the most perfect person in the world for me. We love to do everything together—go to shows, hang out with friends, see movies, talk, laugh, and, of course, eat. He loves my cooking and I love to cook for him—and a few of those pounds I lost started to creep back.

Then a year and a half ago, I decided to go back to school full-time, which involved moving to another state. My routines completely changed, as did my eating habits. And more of those pounds came back.

So now I'm back up to an unhealthy weight. Which sucks. Ultimately, I would like to weigh 140. I am a curvy girl and will never be 120 pounds or a size 4.

Member Since: 8/19/2007

Fitness Minutes: 8,262

My Goals:
• To feel healthier
• To have more energy
• To be able to wear the clothes I want
• To feel good about myself
• To feel comfortable going swimming in public!!!
• To get away from complacency and apathy!

My Program:
I work out at my local gym, usually jumping on the elliptical or catching a Zumba class, and hopefully getting a bit of yoga in there as well. I really want to start getting into strength training.

Personal Information:
I'm a 30-something doctoral student, living in North Carolina.

Other Information:
I love reading, knitting, hiking (which I clearly do not do often enough), various crafts, and being with my family and friends. I love to chat it up with people of a like mind.

Read More About BEELIKETHEBUG - Profile Information moved here. (Updated February 2)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 14.4 
Login to Leave Comment
  • v JCANCIO80
    Hi Ho!!! I'm back on sparkpeople too! I am sick of not being in control of my eating habits! I made a list of foods I will not eat and a list of foods I will eat! It is helping tremendously to be on a program... my own program, but I do best with some type of structure. I will deviate once in a while from the program for special occasions but I will go back to it. Today was a great day but it is Sunday. Monday-Friday is tough because I"m busy and don't have as much time. I see you've lost some weight, congrats!!! Miss you, Ho! Maybe we can be cyber health buddies!
    1870 days ago
    Congrats on your consistency award!!

    1934 days ago
    I listed you as the reference that got me to SparkPeople. I hope they give you a gazillion points for it. : )
    1945 days ago
    WELCOME to the Meditation & Mindfulness Team!
    1962 days ago
  • v JOYANN84
    Welcome to the meditation and mindfulness team!!
    1964 days ago
Member Comments (27):  123Next >Last >>