Chaim--he's a bit nervous


Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with BASTET2
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I have been fighting my weight since I was born. With a DNA that causes me to have a very low metabolism, and living in the South with GREAT food, it is very difficult.

I think, though, that Ihave finally found the "key" for me! Everyday I track, in my thread at Kitty Haven forum, what I have eaten, the exercise I have done, meds taken, water etc.

I mostly eat low fat and take in between 1200-1500 calories a day. Every other Sunday, I have a cheat day--eat whatever I want and I don't weigh or track anything!! I've now lose from 330 to 278. Yes, it's been up and down over the past couple of years as I created new recipes and tastes, went through life trials (such as losing my job and some medical problems, plus the deaths of Indy and Merlyn, two very loved and missed kitties), but overall, I'm going down and not up, and now it is has become almost second nature to eat right.

In fact, it has now become so "easy", that I am now in danger of thinking I've got everything under control and I might end up falling off the wagon, so I have to be especially mindful of the pitfalls.

One thing that has really helped a lot is my swimming pool. It is one of the larger "ring" above-the-ground pools, but since I am short, it is perfect for me. I LOVE IT! I swim and exercise between 2-8 hours each week. I so dread fall...hope we have a slow fall and that I can swim at least through September!

Member Since: 4/12/2007

Fitness Minutes: 4,096

My Goals:
Enter a summary of your goals, or just a few you would like to share.

I want to lose about 100lbs for the simple reason that I am 58 years old and it is becoming difficult for me to move around. I don't want to lose my independence.

My Program:
Give an overview of what you are doing to meet your goals.

I watch my calories and fat, and I try to exercise for at least 30 minutes 5 times a week. Also, Delphyne has been instrumental in me staying in an continuing to try even when I mess up!

Personal Information:
I am from south Georgia, which to me is the most wonderful place on earth. I am southern and proud of it.

I have a BFA in theatre and communication arts, but I run a computer lab and have been a social worker most of my working career.

I'm a conservative Libertarian.

I have two sons and three grandsons.

I have 7 cats and I dearly love animals of all types.

Other Information:

Read More About BASTET2 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated August 27)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 278.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (105):  123Next >Last >>