I'm 48 years old and I FINALLY made my first snowman!

Formal dinner on the cruise celebrating my in-law's 50th anniversary. My men are so handsome!

Lucky's 5th birthday on Nov. 11, 2010. He got a Nyla-Bone, "Fox" and homemade "Momma Cookies".


I love Lucy!


Flower Pot

Shared Fitness Tracker
Interact with BARB7983
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I know HOW to be healthy, but as I've gotten older, everything seems to have gone "South" and stayed there! In 1986 I swam laps 3x a week, cut out red meat and lost 30 lbs. in 6 months and was at 120-125 lbs. and a size 6-8 for four years! ( I routinely swam 32 laps -- one mile -- each workout in 50-60 minutes.) The biggest problem with that is I had become a "food bore." Every morsel was analyzed and most were rejected. I think I was sort of anoerexic, but not to the point of nearly starving to death. And because of the lack of red meat, I was also anemic.
Fast forward 22 years, 70 lbs, and four pregnancies (3 miscarriages) later...In 2008, an endocrinologist told me I was diabetic (an easy diagnosis when you see an overweight person and can quickly get rid of him/her by writing a couple of prescriptions.) She put me on Metformin, Lipitor and Byetta. All these meds did was make me glucose loopy, food paranoid and have the runs. Sure I lost some weight (went from 197 to 180, but I was ABSOLUTELY MISERABLE!) I stopped the meds in September 2008.
I've been working out with free weights, elliptical and stationery bike since October 2008 . Since joining SparkPeople, I've lost eight pounds (yea!), have gone from squeezing in to a size 16 to wearing a size 14 comfortably (can squeeze into 12s if they "stretch") and am working toward a goal of 135 lbs., which would put me at the high-end of a healthy BMI according to WebMD. Some charts put a weight range for my height at 105-130 lbs., but anything below 120lbs. is TOO thin for me. Trust me. I've been there!
Update: For 2011, I'll be working with a trainer at L.A. Fitness 2-3 times per week. I'm starting at 175 lbs. and almost no upper-body strength. I'm "resparking" for 2011.

Member Since: 11/17/2008

Fitness Minutes: 20,973

My Goals:
Get back down to 130-135 lbs and a size 10, and be able to wear my college ring by my 30th college reunion in October 2013. Stay off diabetic meds, which I don't think I need.

My Program:
I'm following a low-sugar, low-fat diet and working out in a gym 2-3 times a week with a trainer. I'm learning how to properly use weightlifting machines. I also have access to an indoor 25-meter lap pool YEA!

Personal Information:
I'm a native Southern Californian (born in Los Angeles) and moved to Indianapolis, Indiana with my family in 2009. We have a son and a big, 100-lb. spoiled black lab/rott mix named Lucky. (see pic of dog on couch.)

Other Information:
"I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me."

Read More About BARB7983 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated February 23)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 157.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (90):  123Next >Last >>