Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with ARACHNE13
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I had a revelation, and it's name was diabetes. I've always been chunky, for as far back as I can remember. I've been on various diets throughout my teens and adult life. Some of them worked for awhile, but nothing ever stuck. I became pretty much anti "diet". I still am, actually.

While I was having blood taken, back in June, I was yammering to my doctor about being happy, healthy, and comfortable with my weight (and, I still am comfortable, and probably always will be, no matter what it is). I told him that I would never diet, that I'm fine the way I am, I love the way I look, and so do the people that love me. I had no real motivation to do anything about my weight, till a week later, when the results for that bloodwork came back. I found out that I was diabetic, and that my A1C was drastically high at 11.5%. It meant nothing to me, at that moment, but then I got some books, and made an appointment with a specialist. I was living kind of dangerously, honestly.

Being 31, and now diabetic has sobered me, considerably. Now I have reasons. I want to be healthy and active, and around to see my great-great-grandkids :).

So, on to a new phase of life. Eating less, hustling my butt more, and being honest with myself. So far, so good.

Member Since: 7/30/2009

Fitness Minutes: 2,257

My Goals:
My main concern is dropping weight for my health. I'm looking to change how I eat, how I live, and how I think about food. I don't have a target weight, or anything like that, I just want to lose it, till I feel right.

My Program:
Monitering my caloric intake, and to a lesser degree, carbohydrates. I stick to less than 1800 calories a day. I belong to a gym, and try to do at least 40 minutes of cardio a day, 4 days a week, and strength training 3 days. At home, I do a yoga routine, some belly dancing and industrial dance workouts.

Personal Information:
My name is Lisa, I'm a happily married 31 year old mother of one awesome boy, and I live on the NJ Shore

Other Information:
Stuff I love: Tarot, the occult, theology, spiders, rats, cats, dogs, books, cooking, gardening, herbalism, art and art history, video games, living on the Jersey Shore, music (heavy metal, punk, classical and eclectic stuff), tattoos, piercings, and lots and lots and lots of other stuff.

Read More About ARACHNE13 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated September 24)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 36.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (42):  123Next >Last >>