1,000-2,499 SparkPoints 2,338

Rising up to overcome obstacles.

Reflecting on the past to change the future.


Happy Birthday
Organized Life ...

Welcome Banner
Organized Life ...

Water Bottle
SP Class of Jun...

Interact with ANYANKAH
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment

I am a speech-language pathologist by profession with aspirations to become a salsa goddess!

I was born with a congenital heart defect called Tetralogy of Fallot. I have had a couple of surgeries, and most recently and a couple of ablations to obliterate a few rather obnoxious arrhythmias.

I was always the skinny girl and never really had much of an appetite. But then a few months after my 19th birthday I was told I needed my second open heart, this time to repair my pulmonary valve. After that, I gained 40lbs. What was different? Maybe my heart function was better, maybe I was eating more and exercising less... I was suddenly afraid to exert myself. Plus I was a college student. I know that's not an excuse but it is what it is. I managed to lose those extra 40lbs and maintained it for a few years. But then I slowly put on 20-30 lbs after i hit 30. But I found salsa and danced it away.

And here I am again in the this roller coaster ride of weight loss and gain at the highest weight I have ever been. With my scary PCP yelling at me for straining my heart and my impending 20 year high school reunion, I have decided it's time to get back on track and keep my heart healthy.

Member Since: 6/30/2013

Fitness Minutes: 1,278

My Goals:
Long Term Goal: Lose 35-40 lbs in 6 months, but mostly fit into my clothes

Mini LT goal #1: Lose 10 lbs by reunion (almost there)
Mini LT goal #2: Lose 10% of weight by vacation (8/10/13) and not gain anything while on vacation

ST goal #1: Drink 6-8 glasses a day.

ST goal #2: Eat every 3-3 1/2. Bring extra snacks...don't get overly hungry

ST goal #3: Get more sleep. Sleeping beauty had it right! Sleep 6-7 hours (to start w/ goal of 7-8):

ST goal #4:Take my medication daily.

ST goal # 5: Exercise 3-4 times a week.

My Program:
I have joined a gym and have a weight loss coach for 8 weeks. Plus I am on this weight loss journey with my pal Geminis_25.

Plan: drink more water, eat more veggies and less junk, exercise 3-4 times a week, planning meals the night before and not eating out.

Personal Information:

Other Information:
Favorite quote: "A life lived in fear is a life half lived."

Favorite hobby: salsa

Read More About ANYANKAH - Profile Information moved here. (Updated July 4)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 151.4 
Login to Leave Comment