1,000-2,499 SparkPoints 2,340

My father and I on my wedding day.

My husband and I on our wedding day.

Me again.


Happy Thanksgiving

Christmas Tree


Interact with ANJINSGAL
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

Hello there!

I am new to Sparkpeople. My doctor suggested that I use this site to help monitor my weight loss and general health. I must say that the site seems to be a wonderful place for support and I look forward to meeting people who are also struggling with their weight.

I have been a long sufferer of depression and various anxiety disorders. I also have Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome, which has contributed to my weight gain steadily over the years. I am now 31 years old.

My early life was very rough and food was often scarce. It is hard to develop a diversified palette and healthy eating habits when you have to face either starving or eating what you can get your hands on.

Diabetes, heart disease, mental disorders, and cancer run in my family. As of this writing I am pre-diabetic. My father and two of his three brothers all died from diabetes, so I am extremely motivated to try to stave off diabetes for a few more years.

I graduated college in 2011 with a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science. I will be seeking a Master's degree in Public Administration in January.

Since graduating in 2011, I have worked primarily as a writer. It is difficult for me to write about my struggle with weight and mental health because it is hard to compartmentalize these issues and remain objective to my feelings.

My husband is also making healthy lifestyle changes with me and I am eternally grateful for his support. I really hope the end of this road we are travelling will lead to a healthier us, so that we may spend many, many years together.


Member Since: 10/16/2013

Fitness Minutes: 1,692

My Goals:
I am pre-diabetic, and as diabetes has claimed so many people in my family, I am trying to lose weight to stave off the disease. Generally, I'd like to be healthier, both mentally and physically.

My Program:
My doctor has me on a 1,600 calorie diet. I have lost five pounds, so far, over the past twenty days. I am also exercising three to four days a week at my local gym.

Personal Information:
I was born in Cleveland, Ohio and have lived in the area all of my life. My father was from Puerto Rico and my mother is of English and French ancestry. I married my soul mate, Christopher, in 2004. We have no children but have four fur-kids (cats): Pinche, Oliver, Ozymandias and Penelope. My interests include writing, genealogy, researching historic architecture, art, (I make all sorts of crafts, have been known to paint, and recolor old photographs), and I am an avid music listener.

Other Information:
I love old MGM musicals and am a huge fan of Judy Garland and Gene Kelly. I am also enamored with the acting and directing of Orson Welles. Other actors I enjoy: Joseph Cotten, Carey Grant, Christoph Waltz, Oliver Platt, Steve Buscemi, and Robert Downey, Jr.

I would get into music, but my tastes cover many, many decades and spectrums. My favorite female vocalist is Judy Garland. Favorite male vocalist: Bobby Darin. Favorite band: Travis.

Read More About ANJINSGAL - Profile Information moved here. (Updated November 8)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 252.0 
Login to Leave Comment
  • v MAJONES1225
    You have a nice page
    1601 days ago
  • v SLACHETKA103145
    Thanks for adding me as a friend! I have added you right back! Let me know if there is anything that I can do to help you in your journey!!!! Take care and I know that you can do it!!!!!

    Jean emoticon emoticon
    1603 days ago
    I just read about your cats on the Cat Lovers team, and it is apparent how much you truly love your cats. I love the names you've given them and hope that Ollie leads a long life with his condition.
    1623 days ago
  • v TURTLE69
    Welcome to Cat Lovers Team! emoticon Feel free to add me as a friend. If you need any support or just someone to talk with, give me a holler.


    1624 days ago
    I recently underwent some testing (doc thought I either had a pituitary tumor or POS)... turned out it's neither, so we're just adopting a wait and see approach with lots of pain killers. Thanks so much for dropping me a line. It was appreciated. :) It's good to know there are great people out there.
    1625 days ago
Member Comments (12):  123Next >