30,000-39,999 SparkPoints 34,456

Christmas 2009, me and the babies





Interact with AMANDADAY63
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I am a middle aged Brit who has lived in the US for almost 30 years. I currently am living in Kentucky. I have never been considered overweight and have been blessed for most of my life with a fast metabolism, but as I age it is becoming more challenging to stay fit and healthy...I am a single mom to 3 special needs children, I homeschool all 3 of my kids, having learned how damaging public school can be for some children. I love learning and finally got my PhD (in International Health) in 2011, am very involved in church, and I do a bunch of volunteer work (Special Olympics coach, Girl Scout Leader)...I need to stay healthy!! My goal is to try and lose the love handles, I am continually battling that extra 10 pounds or so!!...but I am a snacker and love lots of the wrong foods, so motivation can be a big challenge (and time, of course, with special needs children, school etc). I am going to stick with it this year...luckily I do also like lots of non-fattening foods too, so I am hoping that by using the nutrition tracker faithfully this year, along with increasing my walking, I can "budge the bulge" and get more physically fit and healthy....
UPDATE: 1/2014: I am still battling the same challenges, but I am hanging in there!!! I will NOT give up!!
UPDATE: 10/2/16: Now, as I have continued to age and my metabolism has slowed even more, I need to lose about 20# to once more feel at my best. If I can say one thing about myself it would be that I am stubborn, so even when I fail a few times I don't give up completely...I WILL be better, I WILL be the best I can be...its just taking a while :)

Member Since: 10/9/2006

Fitness Minutes: 66,253

My Goals:
My goal is to lose 10 pounds and increase my physical health and wellbeing. I also want to increase my children's awareness of the benefits of a healthy lifestyle

My Program:
I have to be very careful activity-wise due to my recent history/onset of seizures, but I intend to continue walking, tracking my food intake, and increasing my water intake

Personal Information:
My name is Amanda, I am 53 years old, hail originally from Great Britain, but have lived in the US for almost 30 years now. I have been in southern Kentucky for the past 18 plus years and like it here. I am single and have three special needs children ages 17, 15, and 14. I currently homeschool all of them. Back in 2011, I achieved my PhD in International Health, something i never thought i would get ....I am also a nurse, I work part time teaching (patients and staff), and also do some contract work. I am wholly in love with God, and I am very involved in my church. I love the outdoors, camping, spending time with my kids, travel, the Arts, the beach, reading, cooking, and a whole host of other things. I run a special needs Girl Scout troop and coach several sports for Special Olympics.

Other Information:
I am not much into TV, but i do love kids Disney movies. I also love animals of many kinds, especially cats. I love to read home improvement books, and I like home repair and gardening. I also love the Arts and my favorite artist is John Constable, my favorite playwright is Shakespear, and my favorite authors are Thomas Hardy and Dylan Thomas. My children are involved in Special Olympics activites, attend an autism program, participate in church activities, dance, scouting, drama group, and a variety of sports, arts-based, and social activities, so I am never bored......Phew I think thats all for now.....

Read More About AMANDADAY63 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated October 2)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 3.5 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (90):  < Previous12345Next >Last >>