1-99 SparkPoints 1
See this image larger
Our new grandaughter, Juliana. Such a sweetie & beauty and sleeps so well! She's my little rosebud.

See this image larger
My DH and me, here in south Brazil-May 2009

See this image larger
My 5 babes bring me such joy!

go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Welcome Mat
Surviving Cance...
go to goodies page

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with 53PINKROSES
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I'm a missionary in Brazil, 56, married for 35 yrs, have 5 children, 4 sons-in-law, and 7 grands (so far!). I'm a 3-yr survivor of colon cancer and don't ever want that monster to return!
I was introduced to SP by a friend (thanks TAZ!) and, since it happened at a time when I was beginning to make some drastic changes in what I thought was already a pretty healthy diet, I decided to adopt the help that SP offers...especially since it's free!

Thanks for stopping by!

I'm St.Lucian by birth, American by heritage, Brazilian by adoption, and Christian by God's grace, mercy & love!

Home is where my bed is, family is where my heart is.

Member Since: 2/11/2008

Fitness Minutes: 13,544

My Goals:
I have needed to lose 10-30 lbs for several years, depending on what year it was. Last year I lost about 40 lbs when I went through 2 surgeries and chemo but that was too much. Then I had the not-difficult-problem of having to gain weight, something I didn't think I would ever have to do! My problem now is stopping at a certain weight and not gaining more than that. I've gone about 10 lbs over what I would like to weigh, so that is 1 of my goals, to lose 10 lbs within the next several months and to make some necessary changes on my menu.

My Program:
I plan to make my portions smaller, trying to eat more fruits, veggies & whole grains and less of certain proteins(red & preserved meats) and sweets. I also plan to increase the amount of exercise that I do, especially cardio. Oooh, that cardio is my biggest challenge!

Personal Information:
I was born in St.Lucia, West Indies, where my parents were Baptist missionaries, lived & studied in NC for 7 years, then came to Brazil with my husband & 2-yr-old daughter in 1978 where we are still currently missionaries. We have 5 children: 4 married daughters, and 1 son who graduated from high school in May '08. We also, of course, have 4 wonderful sons-in-law and 7 bee-yoo-tee-full grandchildren! I can't forget to mention that we have 2 dogs, Sox & Morgan, and a chinchilla named Tiny.

Other Information:
My favorite color is green, favorite season is Spring and favorite food is...BREAD (oh no, my downfall) !

Guess what my favorite flower is??...! My favorite people are...well, if you really knew me, you would know!

Read More About 53PINKROSES - Profile Information moved here. (Updated March 27)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 7.8 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (217):  123Next >Last >>