10,000-14,999 SparkPoints 10,351

A smalltown Texas girl finds New Hope in the Last Frontier

My first winter in Alaska

Morning colors in the Arctic


High Five
Tortoises Unite...

Happy Thanksgiving


Interact with PALLADINRN
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

Hi, my name is Kandi and I live in Anchorage, Alaska. I first moved to Alaska in 2004 as an itinerant Public Health Nurse in the NW Arctic Borough. I am now on forced retirement from nursing, after 30 years, following 7 knee surgeries. My weight loss is only one part of my journey to recovery and rekindling the fire of the Lord in my life. Currently, I have now been joined by my daughter, who is very talented in crafting jewelry and we are working on building crafting business under the name "Tundra Fun". Besides making jewelry, I crochet and do counted cross-stitch, both of which I include many of my own original patterns and designs.
My daughter and her husband moved to Alaska to assist me as I recover from a recent knee surgery and am on severe mobility restrictions. Finally I am getting to enjoy first-hand the pleasures of being a grandparent My grandson, here, is name Isaiah and he is a very precocious 2yr old.. My other grandchildren are in Florida with my son, an Army Veteran, recently discharged, with 10 years of active service.

Member Since: 3/20/2009

My Goals:
To keep the Lord in First Place in my life.
The Tendon Repair surgery did not take so must lose 50+ lbs in order to have one final shot at successfully regaining full function of my left knee.
To lose 118 lbs and regain my former active lifestyle as best possible and enjoy activities with my grandson as he grows up.
Limit my sodium intake to 2Gm/day or less. for life.
To expand "Tundra Fun" into a multifaceted dynamic enterprise with my daughter and her husband.

My Program:
Mobility/Exercise is restricted to cycling on stationary cycle and walking, no running or activity that could involve any twisting or rotation of my knees.
Maintaining my intake of Sodium to 2Gms/day or less is very daunting. But I have to say greatest challenge is just keeping going. As an Adult with ADHD I struggle almost hourly, it seems, with just moving.

Personal Information:
I moved to Alaska from the Texas Gulf Coast. I immediately fell in love with all aspects of my new home and only wish I had arrived sooner. I have two grown children, a son retired from the Army, now in Florida who has 2 children, a girl age 6 and a boy, age 3, and a daughter who has moved to Alaska with her husband and son, age 2.

Other Information:
I still have an abiding love of horses and have not given up hope of riding again. I also play canasta in an online canasta league in Yahoo games. In my spare time I also crochet, make jewelry and do counted cross-stitch. I also enjoy reading horse stories and mysteries and do some writing. My music favorites are Contemporary Christian, since 1975, Easy listening, Oldies from 50's, 60's and early 70's, Light Classical, and Broadway Musicals.

Read More About PALLADINRN - Profile Information moved here. (Updated September 25)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 234.5 
Login to Leave Comment
    emoticon and emoticon to the Slowest Loser Team!
    2197 days ago
    Really glad to have you on the team People with Disabilities on Fixed Income.

    I am new at helping to co-lead the group and would love to help in any way that I can.

    Have a great day!

    2957 days ago
  • v LYNPIN0998
    Hi Kandi

    Thank you very much for your comments in answer to my query about cup sizes. It was very helpful.

    Your SparkPage is awesome!

    Thanks again

    3329 days ago
  • v TXSPLA
    Hi Kandi,
    Glad you stopped by my spark page. I live in Lewisville. I have 4 grown children and 2 grandsons. I have just been put on the lung transplant list. Patiently waiting. It sounds like an exciting life you have in Alaska. Maybe when I get fixed I will be able to travel.
    Have a great evening.
    3337 days ago
  • v HOPE2BE
    Hi Kandi besides being on People with Disabilities on Fixed Income I'm also on Challenged by Arthritis. Hope to see you there also. Hope
    3337 days ago
Member Comments (11):  123Next >