NEEDDS

SparkPoints
 
Photos
See this image larger
at Kevin and Molly's Wedding June 27, 2010



See this image larger
Alyssa at 17 months



See this image larger
Alyssa and Jeff October 2010


SparkGoodies
go to goodies page
Gold Star
From:
go to goodies page
Menorah
From:
DRB13_1
go to goodies page
Elliptical
From:
NEEDDS
Awards

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
 
Interact with NEEDDS
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment


My name is Nadine and I am 55 years old. I have been working on my size since I was 25 years old and had gained twenty pounds after I got married. I have been a Weight Watcher for over 20 years and have been a member of Ballys about that long. I really got serious about my health in December, 2007 when I started working out regularly. In January, Jeff and I committed to eating healthier and cooking at home more often. It's paid off! I am finally happy with my size and shape and now the trick is to keep it the way it is! It's still a struggle, though good habits are finally starting to become a way of life!

Update August 29, 2009 I just can't seem to lose that last five pounds. I go anywhere from 127 to 132 at WW, but every time I get to that 127, I go back up. I have taken up running along with Jeff. He ran a 10K in June and is training for a half marathon. I have NEVER run in my life, but I started slowly and I ran 4 miles without stopping outdoors today. A real milestone! I am signing up for a 5K in Ann Arbor, MI in October.

Update October 7, 2009 I ran the 5K last Sunday and it was a blast! My time was just under 33 minutes and the pace was 10.34 minutes per mile. I ran steadily the whole thing through the streets of the University of Michigan and the best part was passing other people. Yesterday I ran for one hour straight on the gym track, so the next goal is a 10K!

Update January 31, 2010 I am signed up for my first 10K in Mesa, AZ on Feb. 20. AND I am at my lowest weight I have ever been at in about 20 years.


Member Since: 5/13/2008

Fitness Minutes: 225,673

My Goals:
It's hard for me to believe that I can run 6.2 miles non-stop in a little over an hour. I don't love the actual running, but I love the sense of accomplishment when I am finished, no matter what the distance is. 5K now seems like just an easy jog to me!


My Program:
I log onto SparkPeople every day. I put in every food I eat in the tracker and check how I am doing with my nutrition. My goal for exercise is 300 minutes weekly and I make sure I get in that time if it takes me until Saturday night to do it! It's just constant vigilance and working on it every day and every meal!



Personal Information:
I live in a suburb in Detroit and soon we will be spending the winters in Fountain Hills, AZ. I have been married to my high school sweetheart for 33 years and we have two sons. In May, 2009 our first grandchild was born, Alyssa Dianne. I am a retired dentist and I love having so much free time to prepare meals and to work out!


Other Information:




Read More About NEEDDS - Profile Information moved here. (Updated January 31)




Shown if member clicks "Read More"








(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
Blogs
SparkFriends
My Ticker:
 current weight: 128.0 
134
132.5
131
129.5
128
Login to Leave Comment
Comments
Member Comments (9):  12Next >