go to goodies page
go to goodies page
High Five
go to goodies page

MYSTERYROSE74 is a SparkPeople Motivator!

See All SparkPeople Motivators
Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with MYSTERYROSE74
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I have Ataxic Cerebral Palsy, and it mainly just affects my balance. I need assistance walking. I mainly hold on to my husband's arm (he loves it). I just started to use my walker around the house again (SO glad I finally did that) and am doing really well so far. I am bound and determined to get back to not needing any assistance at all. I've done it before, and I know I can do it again. I have a few mental blocks that I'm working on and I'll be walking in no time.

Since joining Spark People in March 2007 I've accomplished a lot. I reached my goal weight 11 months after starting my weight loss journey (started February 13, 2007), I'm regaining some confidence and am able to walk easier.

The old saying is true. "Use it or lose it". For me, I didn't use it, so I lost it. I took "shortcuts" to get around. Instead of walking I rolled around the house in my computer chair. I became lazy and frustrated. Nine or ten years of doing that really took its toll on my ability to walk alone.

I know it won't happen over night, but I do intend on being able to walk without assistance again some day. My main obstacle is my confidence (making REALLY great progress here!) and my fear of falling. I realize I'll have bad days, I will fall and I will want to quit, but I will keep on going. Small steps is what it takes.

So, when you're having a bad day, just keep on going. That's my mantra. Keep on going.

Member Since: 3/8/2007

Fitness Minutes: 88,423

My Goals:
1. Maintain my goal weight.

2. Work on walking with no assistance.

3. Practice slower breathing during stressful times.

My Program:
1. Strength train 3 days a week.

2. Elliptical.

3. Jessica Smith DVDs.

4. Stretching/Yoga

Personal Information:
Name: Terrie
Birthday: November 24, 1974
Where I live: La Quinta, CA
Favorite Movie Genre: Mystery and Action
Favorite Book Genre: Mystery, Science Fiction and Fantasy
Favorite Band: Matchbox Twenty

Other Information:
My hobbies include reading, writing, playing with my cat and dog, and spending time with my husband.

Read More About MYSTERYROSE74 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated January 18)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 October Minutes: 0
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (589):  123Next >Last >>