Me and my daughters at their first 5K race 4/25/09-my youngest daughter placed 3rd in her age group!

Taken on 12/16/06, I was around 200 lbs.

December 2007 with my husband and daughters, my highest weight of 226.....OMG that was really me???!



Gold Medal

Interact with KALLIEBALLAS
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

Hi, to all! I joined SparkPeople in April 2008, and I am just now getting around to fixing my profile and pictures. I have yo-yo dieted ever since I was about 15 or so, I am 42 now. Since January 4th, 2008 I have lost 65 pounds. In September of this year, I decided to try jogging as a plateau breaker, and found that I loved it. I really enjoy SparkPeople and the motivation from everyone!

Member Since: 4/14/2008

Fitness Minutes: 80

My Goals:
1) My goal weight right now is 140, and then I will see how I feel.

2) Want to be more toned all over.

3) Improve my 5K time.

4) Finish a 10K.

5) Finish a half-marathon.

6) Finish a marathon!

My Program:
I try to eat a well-balanced diet:

2 servings lean protein
2 serv. fruit
4 serv. vegetables (I don't always do this, it's my least favorite!)
2 fats
2 starches (sometime I have more if I am jogging that day)

When I am hungry in between meals, I have protein supplements.

I am not perfect! I probably cheat a few times a week, but I try to make up for it with exercise.

In September, I started jogging. I did the classic "too much, too soon" and ended up with tendonitis in both knees, first the right, then the left. After going to the orthopedic doc, rest, anti-inflammatories, etc. I was able to run my first 5K on 11/27/08 in 43:38! I jog a 5 mile route about 4-5 times a week. my best time for 5 miles is 66 minutes.....still slow but a little faster than I was!

Personal Information:
I am 42 years old, and have been married to Ed for 16 years. He has always been extremely supportive of me. We have 3 children: Joshua (20), Bethany (15), and Melody (12). We live in a small town in Florida on the east coast. I am a "retired" RN, and in business with my mom selling Avon.

Other Information:
We also have 3 cats: Olivia, Simba, and Karma our 5 month old kitten. We got Olivia from the Humane Society when she was 2 months old, and my husband found Simba behind the bushes near our bank ATM cold, wet, and shivering after a rainstorm when he was 2 months old.

Read More About KALLIEBALLAS - Profile Information moved here.

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
This user doesn't have any public blog entries.
This user doesn't belong to any groups
My Ticker:
 current weight: 162.6 
Login to Leave Comment
  • v DRAGONFLY1974
    Glad to see you back!!! How'd your race go? Mine was good considering! I did realize large races are harder to run!
    3343 days ago