See this image larger
1980, Advanced Individual Training photo of me.

See this image larger
Mike & I

See this image larger
Me, my mother-in-law, Jean, and my husband, Mike.

go to goodies page
go to goodies page
High Five
Tortoises Unite...
go to goodies page
The Spark

Interact with DRAKONA61
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

Hello all. I'm Native American, and fighting what my mom called the Indian Spread, talking about our butts, I think I'm doing pretty good. I joined the Army at 17, when my mom heard I wanted to join she grabbed my hand and ran me down to the recruiter and signed the permission papers and we sat and looked through videos and before you knew it, I was in the Army, Military Police was my chosen field. I was in great shape back then, enjoyed Army life and all the traveling. I slowly started losing that focus on me, and maintaining my fitness level, focused more on relationships and travel and slowly started gaining weight. Than, got married and had a baby shortly after that I didn't think of exercise as part of my life, just something to do if I felt like it...which wasn't to often. I got out of the Army, and into the Reserves, when my baby was 6 months old, and pregnant again when he was 8 months old. I hadn't lost very much weight between the pregnancies, which was a little depressing. I was 27 and about 70 pounds over weight. At the age of 30 I was activated for the Gulf war, that desert trip was just what I needed; the heat, the forced activity of loading and unloading, setting up and taking down tents almost every day, eating MRE's when time allowed, the heat of the day prevented the feeling of hunger, so I would eat real early in the morning and late nights after the air cooled down, and drank a lot of water...it was the best diet I had ever been on, I lost not only the 70lb's but another 10. When I returned everyone said how great I looked. Well my weight continued to fluctuate over the next 15 years, my mothers death in 2004 made me realize I need to change my life habits, or I may end up just like she did, with diabetes, failing liver and kidney's, on dialysis, eventually losing my legs and eventually my life....I started this journey on my own, and was slowly making progress, but now that I have found SparkPeople, hopefully we can finish this trip with a great outcome!!!

Member Since: 12/29/2009

Fitness Minutes: 6,409

My Goals:
Walk 10,000 steps a day, do some strength & cardio training 2/3 X a week, and drink 8 glasses of water a day. AND eating those fruits and veggies!

My Program:
Actually exercising, 3/4 days a week, forcing myself to drink water daily!

Personal Information:
Originally from Pine Ridge Indian Reservation, moved to Rapid City after I was 10, went away to school in Idaho. Was in the Army and traveled all over the world... No matter where I've lived, my heart/home is in the Black Hills.

Other Information:
I am very family oriented...come from a huge family, my mom and dad and 3 brothers and a sister are deceased, besides myself, I have 3 sisters and 5 brothers, there are 30 nieces & nephews, including my own 2 sons, and the next generation is so many that I don't kno the exact number, it's over 30!

Read More About DRAKONA61 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated April 3)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 217.0 
Login to Leave Comment
  • This user doesn't have any comments.