Advertisement -- Learn more about ads on this site.

Secrets of Success

< Secrets of Success Main Page    Submit a Secret
0
 

Review: Kashi Frozen Pizza, Not Worth The Price

48

Members Were Sparked
This Sparked Me!

I bought this because I had a coupon, it was on sale, & it was made with whole grains & vegetables, fairly low in calories & carbs. (I got the Mushroom Trio & Spinach variety.) A serving size = 1/3 of a small, thin pizza ---which my husband said "wouldn't satisfy a cat." So we divided it in half (still only 375 calories) & topped it with broccoli & turkey pepperoni. My husband (who doesn't have an oz. of fat on him) added provolone slices & a half of a tortilla on top... (click title for more)

MORE INFORMATION:
...of his half.
It was probably a better choice than other frozen pizzas, but certainly not worth the full retail price. I didn't think it was worth the sale price minus the coupon, either. Next time I'll make my own with whole wheat flat bread or pitas. (See comment for sodium info.)
- Submitted by STORMY724 10/3/2010 in Product Reviews | 10 Comments
Please note these are member-submitted secrets and are not reviewed by SparkPeople's health experts for accuracy. If you feel a secret is inappropriate, please click Report Inappropriate Secret and our staff will review it.

STORMY724's Other Secrets of Success

Popular Product Reviews Secrets

Tags

Member Comments

CATHEITE 10/9/2010 1:55:00 PM

    I enjoyed reading your review. I actually like Kashi's frozen pizzas a lot, esp their Margherita, but I LOL at your husband's comment about how one serving "wouldn't satisfy a cat." I eat half the pizza as a serving too.
HAPPYMOM8 10/8/2010 10:06:00 PM

    Thanks for the info- I am always looking for a better pizza. tonight we I had 1/4 of a subway personal pizza. Really good but probably high sodium. Don't know.
KARVY09 10/6/2010 11:48:00 AM

    I agree. I love Kashi's other products, but the pizza is blah. I enjoy Palermo's thin crust pizzas with 250-400 calories for a 1/3 of the pizza! Usually $3.99 at the market.
MARGARITTM 10/6/2010 9:01:00 AM

    Thanks
RANGERRUNNER 10/4/2010 6:33:00 PM

    I tried these also. Tasteless and expensive.
SEWFITSINGER 10/4/2010 5:27:00 PM

    WOW ... thanks for this tip!
MCCALI59 10/3/2010 5:47:00 PM

    emoticon for the tip. emoticon
CAPTHAMMER 10/3/2010 11:45:00 AM

    I'm fairly forgiving with frozen pizza but I've reeeeally tried to like the Kashi. After several attempts just can't. And OP is correct, even if these were edible it would be hard to justify the price.
STORMY724 10/3/2010 8:58:00 AM

    One serving (1/3 pizza) has 660 gr of sodium ---way too much. Since I ate half, that was 990. I admit, I skipped over the sodium. I'm hypoglycemic and I was looking more at the carbs and protein. I knew I'd have to add more protein, but I made a poor choice there. Turkey pepperoni has high sodium, too. I should have used ground turkey or cut up chicken breast ---just didn't think of it, at the time.

One great thing about SP ---when we track nutrition, if we make mistakes, we know better the next time.
HAPPYLISA17 10/3/2010 6:25:00 AM

    I am curious about the sodium content. . . I'll have to look that up. Thanks for the post, I've always wanted to try one of these.

Leave encouragement, a question, or anything else relevant to this. All comments must abide by SparkPeople's Community Guidelines.

Log in to post a comment.

Related Secrets

Diet Resources: cold bath after exercise | feeling cold after exercise | drinking cold water after exercise
FALSE False