Author: Sorting Last Post on Top ↓ Message:
SCHINK's Photo SCHINK Posts: 3
3/29/09 6:42 P

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
Hello all,

This is my first message! Almost all cheese is made with animal rennet, although there is very little of it in the cheese. In one pound of cheese there is probably one drop of rennet, if that. It is used to make the milk coagulate and turn it into curds and whey. Hard to tell how much ends up in the curds and how much ends up in the whey.

If you are concerned about the rennet, how about making your own cheese? You can purchase vegetable rennet. I've made mozzarella and it's pretty easy and tastes better than anything in the store! This is where I bought my supplies: http://www.cheesemaking.com/ They have tutorials and directions on their site too.

CZAR2004's Photo CZAR2004 Posts: 25
3/17/09 6:12 P

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
Hi all,

My latest quest was discovering if the cheese at Subway was made with or w/out Animal Rennet. Their web site lists the ingredient on all of the cheeses as "enzymes" without further clarification. This is Subway's response:

The majority of this enzyme is derived from plant sources however due to manufacturing variables there is a small chance that some of the enzymes may be animal derived.

I guess I will be going cheeseless at Subway for now on since I can't really know :)


Edited by: CZAR2004 at: 3/17/2009 (18:40)
MILAXXX's Photo MILAXXX Posts: 66
3/7/09 1:05 P

My SparkPage
Reply
I emailed Laughing Cow/baby Bel and they informed me that they were rennet free. I forward the email to JoyousLiving.com

The boring life of a fat girl
CZAR2004's Photo CZAR2004 Posts: 25
3/7/09 12:28 P

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
I am a lacto/ovo vegetarian and love my cheeses. I was really horrified to learn that most cheeses contain animal rennet. So I have been on a search for non-animal rennet cheeses. In addition to the ones listed on JoyousLiving.com, the following cheeses do not have animal rennet:

Finlandia
Laughing Cow
Alpine Lace Swiss (I am not sure about their other cheeses, still researching).
Bonbel

Also, being of Russian descent, I use a lot of sour cream in cooking. I found that many companies use animal rennet to make sour cream. Horizon definitely does not and as far as I have been able to find, Knudsen (West Coast)/Breakstone (East Coast)also does not use animal rennet.

As for Kosher Cheeses/Products, that can be tricky. They will often make their products with "Kosher Rennet" which is made form either dried fish bones or from cow hides. Since the enzyme does not come from the actual cow flesh itself, it is still considered Kosher. However, that does not make it vegetarian. I always read the labels to make sure on Kosher Products as well.

MILAXXX's Photo MILAXXX Posts: 66
7/26/08 10:22 P

My SparkPage
Reply
You're welcome!
i printed it out and take it with me grocery shopping.

The boring life of a fat girl
HEALTHYDEE's Photo HEALTHYDEE Posts: 7
7/26/08 3:42 P

Send Private Message
Reply
Thanks MILAXXX for that link! I've been struggling with finding rennet-free cheese and your site makes it a breeze! emoticon

MISSANTHROPY15's Photo MISSANTHROPY15 Posts: 2,158
7/1/08 3:30 P

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
Have any of you tried the Follow your Heart Cheeses? They are vegan... This is the same company that makes Vegenaise (mmmmmm heavenly!).



www.followyourheart.com/vegangourmet
.h
tml


Edited by: MISSANTHROPY15 at: 7/1/2008 (15:28)
~Kerri~

"You are what you choose today, and not what you've chosen before." Wayne Dyer

"Life is simple. Everything happens for you, not to you. Everything happens at exactly the right moment, neither too soon nor too late. You don't have to like it... it's just easier if you do." Byron Katie


 current weight: 163.0 
 
204
188
172
156
140
MILAXXX's Photo MILAXXX Posts: 66
6/22/08 10:15 A

My SparkPage
Reply
Here's a helpful site.

cheese.joyousliving.com/Default.aspx

Edited by: MILAXXX at: 6/22/2008 (10:14)
The boring life of a fat girl
NORAHD Posts: 75
6/5/08 3:23 P

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
I checked at Whole Foods the other day - they carry Organic Valley & I bought some organic raw milk sharp cheddar that listed "microbial enzymes", as did the store brand (365) slices - at least one of them (I think the Organic Valley? Actually said no animal renet above the ingredients.

 Pounds lost: 3.0 
 
0
25.75
51.5
77.25
103
SARAHKAT13's Photo SARAHKAT13 Posts: 23
6/5/08 8:27 A

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
If you have a Trader Joe's in your area, you can get a flier from their information desk about which of their cheese and cheese-related products have animal rennet and which have vegetable- or microbial-based substitutes.

Nothing tastes as good as thin feels. (Sure, I stole this from someone, but it's so apt that I find myself thinking it as motivation. So here it is for everyone else to enjoy.)


 Pounds lost: 10.0 
 
0
3.25
6.5
9.75
13
SOUTHPAWSCHOLAR's Photo SOUTHPAWSCHOLAR Posts: 3,999
5/23/08 2:58 P

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
I looked it up in the dictionary. It said something about it being the lining of the stomach of an animal, such as a cow, sheep, etc. I am not quite sure what the purpose of using it. I think it is an emulsifier. As I understand it, since a very small amount is used in foods like cheeses and some pastas (e.g., tortillini and ravioli) it doesn't have to be listed as an ingredient. The only way I am sure it is not in a cheese product is if it is stated on the packet that there is no animal rennet.

FERFER24's Photo FERFER24 SparkPoints: (0)
Fitness Minutes: (3,127)
Posts: 181
5/23/08 2:50 P

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
OK call me clueless, but, what is rennet???

LIVE, LAUGH, LOVE

LIVE TO GIVE, KARMA COMES BACK IN TENFOLDS!!!





 Pounds lost: 8.4 
 
0
8.75
17.5
26.25
35
SAPNA.'s Photo SAPNA. SparkPoints: (142,822)
Fitness Minutes: (83,888)
Posts: 19,169
5/23/08 4:42 A

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
I have never once been in a bakery shop where the staff have known if their bread and cakes are vegetarian. I now only buy Kosher bread and cakes. I always know what I am getting.
Myrna.

"To share often and much--to know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived-- This is to have succeeded."


 current weight: 122.0 
 
175
161
147
133
119
ETERNALMOTHER's Photo ETERNALMOTHER Posts: 2,923
5/22/08 8:36 P

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
You guys had me worried about my yogurt. Turns out it has pectin not gelatin.

Watch your thoughts;
they become your words.
Watch your words;
they become your actions.
Watch your actions;
they become habits.
Watch your habits;
they become character.
Watch your character;
it becomes your destiny.
Anon


 current weight: 334.0 
 
355
301.25
247.5
193.75
140
SOUTHPAWSCHOLAR's Photo SOUTHPAWSCHOLAR Posts: 3,999
5/22/08 2:07 P

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
I appreciate everyone's input into this. I tend to buy Cabot cheddar cheeses and Horizon's American cheese. Both state that they do not use animal rennet. I was especially concerned about parmesian cheese. A restaurant manager once told me that parmesian cheese did not have rennet. I was wondering if he was being honest or trying to make a sell. Sounds like the latter was true.

And as someone mentioned, yogurt is another food that I read carefully. I buy the ones with pectin rather than gelatin.


ETERNALMOTHER's Photo ETERNALMOTHER Posts: 2,923
5/22/08 12:54 P

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
My Smith's (Kroger) had a animal rennet free paresan in their regular cheese case recently. It didn't say for vegetarians, just that it didn't have animal rennet.

Watch your thoughts;
they become your words.
Watch your words;
they become your actions.
Watch your actions;
they become habits.
Watch your habits;
they become character.
Watch your character;
it becomes your destiny.
Anon


 current weight: 334.0 
 
355
301.25
247.5
193.75
140
MCCURDY63's Photo MCCURDY63 SparkPoints: (0)
Fitness Minutes: (7,684)
Posts: 544
5/22/08 11:55 A

Send Private Message
Reply
If it doesn't say suitable for vegetarians on the pack then I assume it has animal rennet. For this reason I don't eat cheese in cafes or restaurants etc, as they often use cheap catering-pack foods that are nearly always non-vegetarian. Doesn't hurt to ask, of course but I've found that the staff don't always know (or care).

Parmesan isn't vegetarian unless it's specifically made for vegetarians, I can't find one in my town but I suppose health food shops might have it.



"Love the animals. God has given them the rudiments of thought and joy untroubled. Don't trouble it, don't harass them, don't deprive them of their happiness, don't work against God's intent." Fyodor Dostoevsky





 current weight: 123.0 
 
153
145.375
137.75
130.125
122.5
FIERCEBALANCE's Photo FIERCEBALANCE SparkPoints: (67,734)
Fitness Minutes: (73,505)
Posts: 3,888
5/22/08 11:26 A

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
Last time I checked, Tilamook brand cheddar was rennet free.

"Our marriages are real; all that is at issue is whether a majority will recognise them in law. The next generation already does. We shall overcome."

Andrew Sullivan

"Life is short, the world is big, and we're lucky to witness as much as we can." -David Quammen

"All growth is a leap in the dark, a spontaneous unpremeditated act without the bonds of experience." Henry Miller
SAPNA.'s Photo SAPNA. SparkPoints: (142,822)
Fitness Minutes: (83,888)
Posts: 19,169
5/22/08 10:45 A

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
I bought 2 4packs of yogurt last week. I didn't check carefully enough. When I got home they said Not suitable for vegetarians. I thought they had said suitable. They had the dreaded gelatine in them. I so need new glasses, but I cant afford them at the moment.
Myrna.

"To share often and much--to know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived-- This is to have succeeded."


 current weight: 122.0 
 
175
161
147
133
119
SAPNA.'s Photo SAPNA. SparkPoints: (142,822)
Fitness Minutes: (83,888)
Posts: 19,169
5/22/08 10:41 A

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
I think it is something to do with percentages. if it is infinitesimal it needn't be shown. They don't tell you the percentage of water either.
Myrna.

"To share often and much--to know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived-- This is to have succeeded."


 current weight: 122.0 
 
175
161
147
133
119
COACH_NICOLE's Photo COACH_NICOLE SparkPoints: (72,803)
Fitness Minutes: (145,333)
Posts: 9,350
5/22/08 10:39 A

SparkPeople Team Member

My SparkPage
Reply
I could be wrong, but I think that it's not technically an ingredient--I believe that it's used only in the manufacturing of the cheese itself, so maybe that is why it isn't required to be listed. I'm not 100% sure though.

Nicole



 November Minutes: 658
 
0
30
60
90
120
NORAHD Posts: 75
5/22/08 10:30 A

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
If rennet is an ingredient, shouldn't it be listed? Or am I deluding myself?

 Pounds lost: 3.0 
 
0
25.75
51.5
77.25
103
SAPNA.'s Photo SAPNA. SparkPoints: (142,822)
Fitness Minutes: (83,888)
Posts: 19,169
5/22/08 10:15 A

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
Kosher cheese has non animal rennet. vegetarian cheese usually has a suitable for vegetarians message printed on it. In England it has a V symbol usually in green. Vegan cheese has a sunflower logo. Or it states that it is vegan on the back by the ingredients.
Myrna.

"To share often and much--to know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived-- This is to have succeeded."


 current weight: 122.0 
 
175
161
147
133
119
COACH_NICOLE's Photo COACH_NICOLE SparkPoints: (72,803)
Fitness Minutes: (145,333)
Posts: 9,350
5/22/08 10:09 A

SparkPeople Team Member

My SparkPage
Reply
I don't know, really. But Velveta isn't really cheese--it's a processed "cheese product" but that doesn't mean it's not there. The best way to find out is to go to a product's website and contact them or look for their manufacturing/product information.

Nicole



 November Minutes: 658
 
0
30
60
90
120
HALOLA's Photo HALOLA SparkPoints: (17,401)
Fitness Minutes: (19,075)
Posts: 1,080
5/22/08 10:06 A

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
Try this link emoticon
http://www.cheesesupply.com/product_info
.php/products_id/315
emoticon

God is great


 current weight: 464.0 
 
464
397.5
331
264.5
198
SOUTHPAWSCHOLAR's Photo SOUTHPAWSCHOLAR Posts: 3,999
5/22/08 10:03 A

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
What about feta cheese or parmesan cheese? Do they usually have rennet? Also is it present in soft cheeses such as Velveta cheese?

COACH_NICOLE's Photo COACH_NICOLE SparkPoints: (72,803)
Fitness Minutes: (145,333)
Posts: 9,350
5/22/08 9:43 A

SparkPeople Team Member

My SparkPage
Reply
Conventional cheese is pretty much all made with rennet. But when cheese is made without rennet, it will usually list that specifically on the ingredients label like "Made without Animal Rennet" or "Free of Animal Rennet." Organic Valley cheese is made without rennet and that is the brand I buy. I find that many/most organic brands are rennet-free, but that is no guarantee.

Coach Nicole



 November Minutes: 658
 
0
30
60
90
120
SOUTHPAWSCHOLAR's Photo SOUTHPAWSCHOLAR Posts: 3,999
5/22/08 9:38 A

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
I like cheese made from milk, but don't want it with animal rennet. Does anyone know which cheeses are made without rennet? For the other types of cheeses, is there a way to tell which ones are without animal rennet, other than it stating it specifically on the packet? If not, I know I can find cheeses at the health food stores. Also, some local grocery stores are starting to carry an acceptable choice or two.

Page: 1 of (1)  

Report Innappropriate Post

Other Calling All Vegetarians & Vegans Veg'n Food, Products, Nutrition & Cooking Posts

Topics: Last Post:
Fresh vegetarian chili 10/8/2014 8:35:52 AM
Fall is coming! What's your fav fall food? 10/23/2014 10:25:17 PM
What's your favorite slow cooker recipes? 10/28/2013 2:36:09 PM
a fancy kale salad 12/24/2013 8:09:32 PM
protein help 7/18/2014 4:48:57 PM

Thread URL: http://www.sparkpeople.com/myspark/team_messageboard_thread.asp?board=342x9x15129041

Review our Community Guidelines