Author: Sorting Last Post on Top ↓ Message:
VGNRNR3's Photo VGNRNR3 Posts: 525
9/16/12 2:22 A

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
Unless it's specifically labeled as vegan, kosher gelatin is NOT vegan or vegetarian friendly. It is made from fish. While plant based gelatins or alternatives can be kosher (all it needs is rabbinical supervision), unless explicitly stated, assume it's fish scales (or bones).

Yaara

Israel Team Leader


Time Zone: GST + 2 (Jerusalem)

bayittevoni.blogspot.com


 July Minutes: 56
 
0
125
250
375
500
LNEGA13 SparkPoints: (856)
Fitness Minutes: (1,215)
Posts: 49
9/15/12 8:30 P

Send Private Message
Reply
thanks for replying... it wasn't just yoplait that I saw on the plan that I thought "hey that's not vegetarian." There was one other item I saw on "today's eating plan" that was not vegetarian but I can't remember what it is now... yes "yoghurt" would have been a better way to list the breakfast item than a brand name. I understand sponsorship because the site is free and after all on the top of this page is on "olay" ad but I don't understand a non-vegetarian offering on a vegetarian diet....

 Pounds lost: 3.0 
 
0
17.5
35
52.5
70
VEGFROG SparkPoints: (10,138)
Fitness Minutes: (13,569)
Posts: 139
9/15/12 8:30 P

Send Private Message
Reply

Yoplait yogurt brands (and others) have gelatin as one of its ingredients. The ingredient
listing shows kosher gelatin, but kosher doesn't necessarily mean that its not from an animal source.

Also - Yoplait yogurt contains added color. The color added depends on the flavor variety. For example, Yoplait strawberry and strawberry-banana yogurts contain carmine as a color additive. Carmine, also called carminic acid, is a natural red color derived from the crushed bodies of cochineal insects.

emoticon



BILBY4's Photo BILBY4 SparkPoints: (45,833)
Fitness Minutes: (180,361)
Posts: 1,980
9/15/12 8:16 P

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
Really, why would Spark list any brand food on the meal plan and not just 'yoghurt'? Because the brands are paid sponsors.

I don't think any user should assume that because anything is on the 'vegetarian' plan it is necessarily free of animal additives. In any case even yoplait probably varies a little from country to country due to local tastes, food standards, labelling requirements, etc. so the best way forward for all of us is to read the label carefully.

 current weight: 146.0 
 
211
194.75
178.5
162.25
146
LNEGA13 SparkPoints: (856)
Fitness Minutes: (1,215)
Posts: 49
9/15/12 8:08 P

Send Private Message
Reply
Hi all, I just joined today and had a look at the vegetarian plan that sparkpeople set up for me (before deciding to follow my own plan). For breakfast, they suggested yoplait. The last time I checked, yoplait was not a vegetarian-friendly yogurt because it contained gelatin. Have they changed their ingredients?

 Pounds lost: 3.0 
 
0
17.5
35
52.5
70
Page: 1 of (1)  

Report Innappropriate Post

Other Calling All Vegetarians & Vegans General Team Discussion Forum Posts

Topics: Last Post:
complementary vegetarian? 9/16/2013 9:51:06 AM
Beyond Eggs 8/10/2013 7:07:00 PM
Five Surprising Things Tested On Animals 12/1/2013 5:27:02 PM
Awesome blog for unusual ways to eat cauliflower 9/26/2013 5:17:51 AM
5 short videos about factory farming 11/23/2013 1:48:13 PM

Thread URL: http://www.sparkpeople.com/myspark/team_messageboard_thread.asp?board=0x9x49951454

Review our Community Guidelines