Maltodextrin, according to a dietician I talked to when I was taking a several week long Heart Smart exercise and diet program, is derived from corn. It is a carbohydrate and should be safe for people who are gluten intolerant, as long as they're not allergic to corn as well. I had been avoiding it and that really reduced the number of foods I could eat. After talking with her, I buy GF foods containging maltodextrin, and have had no problems with them.
Edited by: FROSTYY at: 1/15/2007 (14:31)
Fitness Minutes: (6,827) Posts: 8,254 1/13/07 6:56 P
Maltodextrin is a starch. It is usually based from corn starch in the US. I've only been GF since Oct after my diagnosis. I know I avoided foods with that in the ingredient list at first because I thought it might be malt until I learned its origin. There is a lot to learn at first. I tackled foods a little at a time instead of taking on the whole grocery store at once. That helped me keep my sanity. :)
Fitness Minutes: (0) Posts: 281 1/13/07 5:58 P
SparkPeople, SparkCoach, SparkPages, SparkPoints, SparkDiet, SparkAmerica, SparkRecipes, DailySpark, and other marks are trademarks of SparkPeople, Inc. All Rights Reserved. No portion of this website can be used without the permission of SparkPeople or its authorized affiliates.
SPARKPEOPLE is a registered trademark of SparkPeople, Inc. in the United States, European Union, Canada, and Australia. All rights reserved.