Author: Sorting Last Post on Top ↓ Message:
1GRNTHMB's Photo 1GRNTHMB Posts: 4,791
10/1/09 2:49 P

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
They only have to specify if it is wheat. Most Modified Food Starch made in the USA is made from corn. And most companies now identify the source of the starch.

www.uhs.wisc.edu/docs/uwhealth_glute
n_
183.pdf


But, to be on the safe side, when in doubt, do not eat it. Most companies provide an telephone number where you can call and ask them the source of the modified food starch on their labels.

Mark
Leader: Gluten Free and Healthy
teams.sparkpeople.com/gfh

Co Leader: Ankylosing spondylitis is anky-losing bad habits!
teams.sparkpeople.com/as


 current weight: 199.0 
 
248
235.75
223.5
211.25
199
SAPPHIREWINDS's Photo SAPPHIREWINDS Posts: 208
9/30/09 6:38 P

My SparkPage
Reply
if it's a law that they are supposed to say what kind of starch is being modified, how come I see "modified food starch" all over the place?

 current weight: 153.0 
 
164
155.5
147
138.5
130
DOTSLADY's Photo DOTSLADY Posts: 10,015
9/30/09 12:58 P

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
Before I went sugar-free I used Eagle Brand condensed milk. There's nothing on the ingredients list to make you wonder: www.eaglebrand.com/nutrition.
asp


found at gfkitchen.server101.com/Glute
nFree_Gui
de_Shopping_Guide.htm
(I've never used this site, but thought you might find it helpful at this time? I don't know how up to date it stays, is all.)

KNOWLEDGE = POWER. BODY = TEMPLE. FOOD = MEDICINE. PREVENTION IS THE CURE. YOU ARE WHAT YOU ABSORB!
One person's food is another person's poison.
__________
Celiac Disease: An autoimmune reaction from eating gluten grains: wheat, rye, barley and contaminated oats=nutrient deficiency=cancer. Have 1 of 300 symptoms? bit.ly/cdsymptoms
CD stories: bit.ly/cdstories
Nutrition/Cancer: bit.ly/Quillinnutrition


3,083 Days since:  gluten
 
0
775
1550
2325
3100
GREYKAT Posts: 25
9/30/09 12:17 P

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
Thank you!! This is incredibly helpful. Understanding the 'whys' and 'hows' things are as they are give me much greater confidence in making the best food choices.

 current weight: 158.4 
 
160
152.5
145
137.5
130
1GRNTHMB's Photo 1GRNTHMB Posts: 4,791
9/29/09 4:55 P

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
Most of the products that are listed in the may contain gluten section are there because of Modified Food Starch. This site and list needs to be modified because the newest food labeling laws made it so wheat has to be listed if it is the source for the modified food starch. Most Modified food starch in the USA and Canada are gluten free but the few that are not are usually made form wheat and thus will be labeled as such. This law opened up a lot of foods that we had to avoid before. In 1994 when i was diagnosed, Modified Food Starch was always on the no, no list. Now it is mostly on the safe list, unless labeled as coming form wheat. Malted milk is obvious because it contains malt which is almost always from barley. Sour cream often has modified food starch in it as a stabilizer, now most of those are safe but occasionally you will find one that says wheat. Most creamers are safe now.

Mark
Leader: Gluten Free and Healthy
teams.sparkpeople.com/gfh

Co Leader: Ankylosing spondylitis is anky-losing bad habits!
teams.sparkpeople.com/as


 current weight: 199.0 
 
248
235.75
223.5
211.25
199
ILLINITEACHER52 Posts: 7,256
9/26/09 2:59 P

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
Is there a thickener in the ingredients? I wouldn't think there would be gluten in it but I'm not really sure.

 current weight: 158.0 
 
171
163.25
155.5
147.75
140
SAPPHIREWINDS's Photo SAPPHIREWINDS Posts: 208
9/26/09 11:53 A

My SparkPage
Reply
UGH! Sometimes I feel like there's NOTHING I can eat that I didn't purchase the raw ingredients and make from scratch in my own kitchen! Course, I was glutened yesterday, I think it was the salad bar, or maybe the Del Taco fries.

 current weight: 153.0 
 
164
155.5
147
138.5
130
CAHANIM8R's Photo CAHANIM8R SparkPoints: (44,689)
Fitness Minutes: (14,283)
Posts: 3,740
9/25/09 9:50 P

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
This is what I found for your question. I'll include the link to the site, because it has a lot of good info about GF.

Food Group: Milk & milk products (2 or more cups daily)

Do Not Contain Gluten: whole, low fat, skim, dry, evaporated, or condensed milk; buttermilk; cream; whipping cream; Velveeta cheese food; American cheese; all aged cheeses, such as Cheddar, Swiss, Edam, and Parmesan

May Contain Gluten: sour cream commercial chocolate milk and drinks, non-dairy creamers, all other cheese products, yogurt

Contain Gluten: malted drinks

www.gicare.com/diets/Gluten-Free.asp
x


"And this above all, To Thyne Ownself Be True" Hamlet/Shakespeare

Co-Leader of Panther Pride
Leader of St. Augustine Sparkies


 current weight: 263.0 
 
263
234.75
206.5
178.25
150
GREYKAT Posts: 25
9/25/09 6:36 P

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
Does anyone know if sweetened condensed milk (or regular condensed milk) is GF? I've not been able to find it on any lists...

 current weight: 158.4 
 
160
152.5
145
137.5
130
Page: 1 of (1)  

Report Innappropriate Post

Other Celiac Disease and Gluten-Free General Team Discussion Forum Posts

Topics: Last Post:
Need help FAST! 9/22/2013 4:49:09 PM
Can you eat Oats? 5/8/2013 1:25:50 PM
GF Cookbooks - Gluten Free on a Shoestring 5/7/2014 8:25:06 PM
Pizza Lessons 10/23/2013 11:51:56 AM
What's Your Gluten-Free Story? 5/26/2013 7:51:31 AM

Thread URL: http://www.sparkpeople.com/myspark/team_messageboard_thread.asp?board=0x948x28658969

Review our Community Guidelines