Check out celiac.org and glutenfree.com as to wites with helpful information. The latter is a store but she provides a lot of helpful information. There are a lot of hidden glutens. The Obvious ones are:
Barley Rye Triticale Wheat (durum, graham, kamut, semolina, spelt) Malt, malt flavoring, malt vinegar (are generally made from barley, verify the source)
Not so obvious ones include:
unidentified starch modified food starch (Most in food produced in USA are safe - this opened up a lot of food to us) hydrolyzed vegetable protein - HVP hydrolyzed plant protein - HPP texturized vegetable protein - TVP binders fillers excipients extenders malt
They have found that a lot of Celiac Patients can eat oats if they are pure but there are some like me who are very reactive to them. Also be carful in that beacause oats are now considered safe for many they can be allowed when the gluten free lable is used.
I too avoid gluten products because they cause allot of problems in me and yes there are hidden gluten in almost all products but there are products out there that don't have gluten or flour products in them but you have to read the labels on all products except for fresh vegetables, fruit and meat (that is not processed).
If you tell God no because He won't explain the reason He wants you to do something, you are actually hindering His blessing. But when you say yes to Him, all of heaven opens to pour out His goodness and reward your obedience. What matters more than material blessings are the things He is teaching us in our spirit. Charles Stanley
For the Lord Himself will descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of an archangel, and with the trumpet of God. And the dead in
I liked Gluten-Free Living for Dummies by Danna Korn too. Both have great perspectives and both cover different things in this ever broad subject!
If you want a quick look at lists and other interesting articles, try this website:
If I lived in East TX, I'd have this woman as my doctor!
KNOWLEDGE = POWER. BODY = TEMPLE. FOOD = MEDICINE. PREVENTION IS THE CURE. YOU ARE WHAT YOU ABSORB! One person's food is another person's poison. __________ Celiac Disease: An autoimmune reaction from eating gluten grains: wheat, rye, barley and contaminated oats=nutrient deficiency=cancer. Have 1 of 300 symptoms? bit.ly/cdsymptoms CD stories: bit.ly/cdstories Nutrition/Cancer: bit.ly/Quillinnutrition
Really, I would recommend reading The Gluten Bible by Jax Peters Lowell because there is a lot of very helpful information in it. I'm currently away from my home (and work) computers, but I have a number of links to websites that I plan on sharing that will also be helpful.
One food that surprises me to no end is soup. Most Campbell's soups are thickened with wheat flour -- even tomato soup! I have become a very wary label reader and I check out any and EVERYTHING just so be sure that it doesn't contain gluten. And if I'm not sure, I don't purchase it until I can research and make sure that it doesn't.
I truly wish that there were labels for gluten-free foods and dishes, but until people actually recognize that it's an actual ALLERGY/INTOLERANCE and not some fad diet, I'm afraid we're going to be relegated to checking any and every label.
Welcome to the community!!
S/W: 287 -- C/W: 282 -- G/W: 199
1st Mini-Goal: 279 Pounds Lost: 5 Pounds to Lose: 83
I'm new to the idea of me going completely gluten free, so maybe some of the veterans her can help me out. I know there are hidden glutens in various foods, but don't know where to start looking for them. Can you list some of the unusual or surprising products that I should be avoiding?
SparkPeople, SparkCoach, SparkPages, SparkPoints, SparkDiet, SparkAmerica, SparkRecipes, DailySpark, and other marks are trademarks of SparkPeople, Inc. All Rights Reserved. No portion of this website can be used without the permission of SparkPeople or its authorized affiliates.
SPARKPEOPLE is a registered trademark of SparkPeople, Inc. in the United States, European Union, Canada, and Australia. All rights reserved.