I'm really trying to be vigilant about those little sources of gluten, but I've had a few surprises lately.
Some red or green chili sauces have wheat in them, and others do not. I don't know if any of these are national, but check labels. The Cervantes sauces contain wheat flour but the 505 brand has rice flour.
At Costco, they were handing out samples of tamales. Now, there's a GF food, right? Wrong! Same with enchiladas sometimes.
Also, though not Mexican, check risotto for wheat. None of these things need wheat, but it's cheap! And, it's not just the store brands, either.
"It is only with the heart that one sees rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye."
Antoine de Saint Exupery: The Little Prince
"To the world you may be one person, but to one person you may be the world."