Author: Sorting Last Post on Top ↓ Message:
PATTK1220's Photo PATTK1220 SparkPoints: (65,280)
Fitness Minutes: (17,956)
Posts: 7,256
4/24/12 5:29 P

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
You can make vegan gelatin www.peta.org/living/vegetarian-livin
g/
gelatin-alternatives.aspx


Patt in Minneapolis
Leader, Forks Over Knives & Engine 2 Diet
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
One's philosophy is not best expressed in words; it is expressed in the choices one makes ... and the choices we make are ultimately our responsibility.- Eleanor Roosevelt

The food you eat can be either the safest & most powerful form of medicine or the slowest form of poison. ~Ann Wigmore


 Pounds lost: 22.5 
 
0
15
30
45
60
QUIXOTIC-HOPE's Photo QUIXOTIC-HOPE Posts: 84
4/24/12 5:13 P

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
I heard about the red food coloring a while ago. While I think it's a disgusting practice, I have to give Starbucks credit for agreeing to stop using it. It's a step in the right direction, at least.

~Katie~
Starting weight: 294
BLC #15 goal weight: 278
Goal weight: 190


 Pounds lost: 0.0 
 
0
26.35
52.7
79.05
105.4
BARBBF's Photo BARBBF Posts: 5,065
4/24/12 5:04 P

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
I stopped buying and using red food coloring 20+ years ago when I became a vegetarian. I also stopped eating Jell-o and marshmallows after I found out what the ingredients were.


JELL-0


Origins: Sometimes the most Jell-O innocuous of foodstuffs contain constituents whose origins are less than appetizing. Such is the case with JELL-O, a dessert that has graced millions of dinner tables since its 1897 debut.

Underneath JELL-O's jiggly wholesomeness lurks a secret many consumers are disconcerted to learn: JELL-O is made from gelatin, an animal product rendered from the hides and bones of animals.

The production of gelatin starts with the boiling of bones, skins, and hides of cows and pigs, a process that releases the protein-rich collagen from animal tissues. The collagen is boiled and filtered numerous times, dried, and ground to a powder. Because the collagen is processed extensively, the final product is not categorized as a meat or animal product by the federal government. Very strict vegetarians avoid gelatin entirely, but more permissive vegetarians have no problem including JELL-O in their diets.

JELL-O products account for about 80 percent of the gelatin market.


BARF BAG TIME!!!!


emoticon

Edited by: BARBBF at: 4/24/2012 (17:10)
WILLBOYWONDER's Photo WILLBOYWONDER SparkPoints: (33,405)
Fitness Minutes: (17,317)
Posts: 6,369
4/24/12 4:44 P

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
It's funny people pick on Starbucks, but plenty of stores and restaurants have been using it for decades. Even red food coloring you buy is made with the red beetles. Same is true with Jell-O. You have to get foods and food coloring that are Vegan to avoid it. Like Karen said, assume it isn't Vegan unless you make it yourself.

Edited by: WILLBOYWONDER at: 4/24/2012 (16:50)
~~ Will ~~

~~~~If you're looking for a blessing, try being a blessing to others! ~~~~


www.webmd.com/


 current weight: 182.0 
 
200
191
182
173
164
ORGANIC811LFRV's Photo ORGANIC811LFRV Posts: 4,483
4/24/12 4:38 P

Send Private Message
Reply
The government approved this item among loads of others. My rule is unless i make it its suspect. I wont eat or drink anything commercial nor from a restaurant or beverage house. I am getting healthier by the week.

Karen - The Green Smoothie Loving High Carb Low Fat Raw Organic Vegan Co-Leader Low Fat Raw Vegan : www.sparkpeople.com/myspark/groups_i
ndividual.asp?gid=7696


FOR RAW FOOD SUCCESS READ 80/10/10 BY DR. DOUG GRAHAM! EAT FRUIT! CARB UP!


 Body Fat %: 32.0
 
49
41.75
34.5
27.25
20
BARBBF's Photo BARBBF Posts: 5,065
4/24/12 4:29 P

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
Starbucks to phase out coloring from crushed beetles

Thu, Apr 19 2012

(Reuters) - Starbucks Corp said on its blog on Thursday that it will stop using a natural, government-approved coloring made from crushed beetles in its strawberry flavoring by late June, bowing to pressure from some vegetarian customers.

Starbucks has been using the extract in its strawberry frappuccinos and smoothies, as well as some deserts like raspberry swirl cake.

"After a thorough, yet fastidious, evaluation, I am pleased to report that we are reformulating the affected products to assure the highest quality possible," Cliff Burrows, president of Starbucks U.S., wrote in a blog post.

Instead, the coffeehouse chain said it plans to use lycopene, a natural, tomato-based extract.

Burrows said Starbucks "fell short" of customer expectations. One blogger in March began an online petition to pressure Starbucks to stop the practice.

Ground up cochineal beetles is a commonly used Food and Drug Administration-approved food coloring.

(Reporting By Phil Wahba in New York; Editing by Michael Perry)


Page: 1 of (1)  

Report Innappropriate Post

Other Calling All Vegetarians & Vegans Introduce Yourself to Team Forum Posts

Topics: Last Post:
starting all over *again*.... 6/2/2014 2:37:51 PM
Here come Diva Mama Ready to rock the world! 8/1/2013 10:19:39 AM
Hi! 12/11/2013 11:36:03 AM
Not just a snowbird! Bye Chicago! I'm here to stay 12/8/2013 2:33:15 PM
I'm going to do this! 10/28/2013 3:07:53 PM

Thread URL: http://www.sparkpeople.com/myspark/team_messageboard_thread.asp?board=-1x9x47742040

Review our Community Guidelines