I recommend you join the ICORS Celiac listserve listserv.icors.org/SCRIPTS/WA-ICORS.EXE?A0
then click on Join or Leave Celiac
This is a large international list but predominately American. You can search their message database or ask your questions there to a larger group . Good Luck, Barb (gf 28yrs)
Here are some postings from the last 2 weeks:
1. Passover products are on the shelves in many supermarkets now. The labeling required on Passover products enables those of us with celiac to find more foods that are gluten-free. But, just because something says Kosher for Passover does NOT mean it is gluten-free.
Here is what you need to know.
First, religious (Jewish) law prohibits eating grains during Passover, except for the wheat in matzah and its related forms....matzah meal, cake meal, and farfel (regardless of how they're spelled.) So in order to be labeled Kosher for Passover, the product must list if any of these are in it. If you see matzah, matzah meal, cake meal or farfel in the ingredients....do not eat it. It is wheat. The reverse helps us too, because if NONE of these are listed on a Kosher for Passover product, the product IS gluten-free, including in the processing.
Second. If a Kosher for Passover product says non-gebrochts, it has no grain in it and is gluten-free.
Read the labels carefully. Check the freezer department, too.
You may see people on the listserv talking about oat matzah. I do not use it and do NOT know where to get it, but the matzah that is sold in supermarkets is made from wheat (and I just saw spelt, also no good for us). In the past, oat matzah was ordered from various websites.You can do an online search, if that's your preference.
And, please don't be angry with me if your supermarket does not carry a plethora of Passover products. Tell the store manager, not me.
I hope this helps.
Lin (I have celiac and observe Passover.)
2. I've been getting questions in response to last week's posting about how to interpret labels on Passover foods. So I did some more research.
I found out the answer about kitniot. None of the websites'interpretations said anything about wheat, oats, barley, or rye. They did say that if Kosher for Passover product says that it does not contain kitniot, it means no corn, soy, corn syrup, dextrose (presumably from corn) or legumes. (Please don't beat me up if your rabbi disagrees with this description. I know there are different interpretations. I saw peanuts on the list too, but I grew up using peanut oil for Passover. Go figure.)
And I found an actual definition of non-gebrochts.
Gebrochts is a Yiddush word meaning "broken". No-one knew the connection.
The practice of not eating gebrochts is
"an additional strictness that some observe during Pesach (Passover), to avoid eating any matzah product that has come into contact with liquid after being baked."
So again, on a Kosher for Passover label, it's gluten-free if it has
no matzah meal
no matzah farfel
no cake meal
(all relevant spellings apply).
No kitniot, I'm sorry to say, does not seem to help us at all, unless you're allergic to corn and soy...and maybe peanuts.
No responses, please. If you have any additional questions, searching the web is your best resource. Happy holiday, whatever you celebrate.
Thank you. Lin
3. To my listmates on the celiac list and a few other folks who are wheatfree/gluten-free and not on the list:
Just received my annual publication: A Passover Guide To Cosmetics and Medications, from Kollel, Los Angeles. Kollel is a Jewish institution that prints this large booklet to help those observing Passover, but since wheat (except for matzah), oats, barley and rye are taboo on Passover....this booklet of copious lists is great for anyone who is wheat-free or gluten-free.
If you get the booklet, read the instructions carefully. The products are gluten-free unless otherwise indicated....so look for the indications.
While the booklet is free, Kollel expects a donation for it. I don't know if they can accommodate a deluge of requests, but you can ask, if you're looking for a guide like this. Their phone number is 323-933-7193. I am not trying to promote the organization. Just letting you know about the booklet.
Edited by: GFNOMAD at: 3/12/2009 (18:29)
| current weight: 134.4