As mentioned, certified gluten free oats are gluten free. This is a 'specialty' product...not just looking at Quaker Oats and not seeing a gluten ingredient. Oats can be contaminated in transport, but also in the air if they are grown too close to a field of wheat, being contaminated by wind or even birds. Growing oats in a field that had once grown wheat can also contaminate them.
Now, just to further aggravate the situation, the protein in oats is similar to the protein in wheat. If you are sensitive to one, you MAY
be sensitive to the other, even if it is certified gluten free. Personally, I can eat very few oats at a time. (But no gluten, ever.) I react the same way with the oats as I did with gluten, but only if I go over the 'threshold.' I never do more than 1/4 cup at a time, and not too many days a week. Some people do not react to oats in any amount, as long as they are gluten free.
If this was your last day, how would you spend it?
| Pounds lost: 25.3