Advertisement -- Learn more about ads on this site.


    WHEAT_ON_TRIAL   52,758
SparkPoints
50,000-59,999 SparkPoints
 
 

Toasting the Toast-Less


Monday, July 29, 2013

I’m really happy I decided to get the Wheat Belly Cookbook from the library, and not necessarily because of the recipes. The first 100 pages delves into a lot of “what” to do, which is a great supplement to the original Wheat Belly book that explains “why” we do it. There are certainly some redundancies in both, but that’s ok – it takes some reinforcement to really internalize what committing to this lifestyle means. For individuals new to Wheat Belly, I’d actually recommend reading the cookbook first – it’s a bit easier to get through.

I think what I’m most excited about is that I don’t have to restrict what I imbibe as much as I thought I would. The reason? Barley, although it contains gluten, is not on the Wheat Belly restricted list. I mistakenly thought all gluten-containing grains would be problematic – so when I opted for something other than wine, it was usually a Gluten Free beer or cider ( wp.me/p1N36Q-9a ). Dr. Davis lists out some additional choices for beers, and I was surprise to see that Bud Light made the cut (it’s brewed with rice and barley malt). Now Bud Light has never been on my personal go-to beverage list, but – because it is also very low carb (6.6 grams per 12oz compared to 10g+ for other beers) – I think I might be willing to give it a try. Because barley has the “green light,” this also means most wine coolers are ok to drink.

I’ve also had a lot of questions about liquors. For example, a few weeks ago I wasn’t feeling that great after making myself some Irish Hot Chocolate ( wp.me/s1N36Q-glutened ) and wasn’t sure whether to blame the Bailey’s Irish Cream or the sugar in the cocoa. Dr. Davis puts Bailey’s in the liqueur safe list, along with Kahlua, Triple Sec, and Amaretto di Saronno. Only those with a true gluten allergy need to avoid liqueurs made by fermenting grains, as Bailey’s is. I am thinking I’ll make my own sugar-free cocoa with Bailey’s in the future and see if I feel differently.

Brandy, cognac, and rum are generally safe. Whiskey is generally NOT safe. Vodkas are a mixed bag – most of the biggest names I’ve heard of DO contain wheat (Absolut, Grey Goose, Ketel One, SKYY, Stolichnaya, and Van Gogh). He mentions other vodkas made from potatoes, grapes, and corn (Smirnoff), but I don’t really think I’m going to be able to remember this. Plus I have my suspicions about potatoes and corn.

My go to drink is usually a glass of wine. And I’m happy to have more beer and liquor choice now. I won’t even miss vodka.
SHARE

Member Comments About This Blog Post:
KNYAGENYA 7/30/2013 11:48AM

    Good to know.

Report Inappropriate Comment
LILLITH32 7/30/2013 8:47AM

    Ugh, looks like most of my favorite poisons are off the menu (Vodka and Whiskey). I guess I will be sticking to wine too, and maybe a bit of rum. Thank you for the informative blog! I never thought much about gluten content of alcoholic beverages before.

Report Inappropriate Comment
MSKRIS7 7/30/2013 8:25AM

    emoticon emoticon

Report Inappropriate Comment
NOWYOUDIDIT 7/29/2013 9:08PM

    love beer! emoticon emoticon

Report Inappropriate Comment

Add Your Comment to the Blog Post


Log in to post a comment.
 


Other Entries by WHEAT_ON_TRIAL