Advertisement -- Learn more about ads on this site.

    ALDECKER08   20,412
20,000-24,999 SparkPoints

The thirteen original colonies & the flag

Tuesday, July 02, 2013

The first flag was made by Betsy Ross. She was approached by George Washington, Robert Morris, and George Ross to make the flag in early 1776, and finished it even before our independence was declared. This new flag was formally adopted on June 14, 1777 (now known as Flag Day). The 13 stripes (7 red and 6 white) represent the 13 original colonies. The stars, of course, represent each state in America. Delaware became the first state on December 7, 1787. The rest of the original colonies (Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Georgia, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maryland, South Carolina, New Hampshire, Virginia, New York, North Carolina, and Rhode Island) all became states by mid-1790. In 1959 we added Alaska & Hawaii, giving us the 50 states that we now have.

Member Comments About This Blog Post:
COOP9002 7/4/2013 12:26PM

    Thanks for sharing.

Report Inappropriate Comment
CLESHER 7/3/2013 10:24AM

    So the history is funny how we forget all we learned in grade school when it comes to our own history...


Report Inappropriate Comment
JANTWO 7/3/2013 1:16AM


Report Inappropriate Comment
BRADMILL2922 7/2/2013 10:31PM

    I love me some history! Always good info and I don't know about that specific flag question either without the Google machine!

Report Inappropriate Comment
ALDECKER08 7/2/2013 9:24PM

    That is a good question, and I can't answer it without google...

Report Inappropriate Comment
TRYINGTOLOSE64 7/2/2013 9:21PM

    My question to you is.... When (what year) was flag day first celebrated/designated?

Report Inappropriate Comment

Add Your Comment to the Blog Post

Log in to post a comment.

Disclaimer: Weight loss results will vary from person to person. No individual result should be seen as a typical result of following the SparkPeople program.

Other Entries by ALDECKER08