Friday, November 28, 2014
Wheat (all types, including durum, einkorn, faro, kamut, semolina and spelt), barley, rye and certain processed oats all contain a protein called gluten, and all foods made from these grains (most flours, cereals, breads, pastas, crackers and cookies) contain gluten, too. Not all grains contain gluten, however. Amaranth, arrowroot, buckwheat, cassava (manioc), corn, flax, indian rice grass (montina), Job's tears, millet, finger millet (ragi), potatoes, quinoa, rice, sago, sorghum, soy, tapioca, tef (teff), wild rice and yucca are naturally gluten-free.
Hmm - I donīt know all those grains. But corn, potatoe and rice and quinoa I see as "normal" together with other food. Could be interesting to try making bread without gluten as my stomach has been -strange- for quite a bit of time..