15,000-19,999 SparkPoints 16,987


Me doing what I love!

glacier trekking - Alaska



Picnic Basket

Happy Thanksgiving

WOODHEAT is a SparkPeople Motivator!

See All SparkPeople Motivators
Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with WOODHEAT
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I decided that I really should update this page today, but truthfully it still all fits. I started The Outdoor People team 9 years ago! I'd like to see that I no longer have any extra weight and that I have all of my bad habits under control, but that wouldn't be the truth. However, here it is 9 years later and I haven't gained any weight and I'm still very healthy. I'm pretty happy with that!

I'm a retired teacher who loves anything outdoors -- hiking, kayaking, fishing, hunting, biking, and gardening. I also enjoyphotography, reading, game playing, woodworking and playing with my grandchildren.
To me, life is an adventure, not to be missed. I seek out new experiences and new friends. An exciting new part of my life has been meeting some of my SparkFriends face to face. I've met many of them over the past 9 years and enjoyed every single one of them. We've even been on trips with some of them! What a great adventure! This year, I plan on meeting at least a couple more.
Life is short and I believe that to live it well a person needs to stay in good physical shape. I'm now 66 years old and still enjoy most of the activities I enjoyed in my 20's. My goal is to still be enjoying them into my 80's.

Member Since: 2/19/2007

Fitness Minutes: 3,400

My Goals:
My goals center around making sure that I can continue to pursue the things I love to do as I get older. This includes my mountain hiking, biking, jogging , kayaking, and country dancing. (Just to mention a few.)

My Program:
Maintain a positive attitude during tough times. I'm salt sensitive, so I'm controlling my intake of sodium by eating as natural as possible. I'm also making a effort to do away with night time snacking and drinking my "brandy" only on weekends. Exercise is a daily must - either through working outdoors or taking on some sort of aerobic exercise.

Personal Information:
I presently live SouthCentral Pennsylvania. Our home is located on a dirt road on the side of a mountain. When I look out my window I see nothing but mother nature. I love it here!

Other Information:
I love activity. I am not one to sit in front of a TV set for long periods of time. My wife and I are very much into travel and belong to a group called NOMADS that does mission work around the country. We love game playing!(cards, "Catch Phrase" etc.

Read More About WOODHEAT - Profile Information moved here. (Updated January 1)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
Secrets of Success
This user doesn't have any secrets of success.
My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 3.3 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (269):  < Previous1234Next >Last >>