TXTRAIN2004
15,000-19,999 SparkPoints 18,485
SparkPoints
 
Awards

 
Interact with TXTRAIN2004
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment


I'm from Dallas, TX but have been working in war zones for the last 8 plus years. 4 in Afghanistan and now over 4 in Darfur, Sudan. It has been difficult to stay in good shape in this environment (it is extremely hot most of the year and we have no a/c) and with my long-term knee problems and a recent problem with a disc in my neck. I have used this all as an excuse and not even done the things I could do for the last few years.

I was motivated during my last trip home by seeing some of my best friends really getting after it. The Texas heat is as bad as the heat here and I saw one of my best friends working out in his garage every evening after work. I thought if he can do that I can find a way to work out here.

Now I'm back in Darfur trying to find good routines to keep healthy, keep my heart focused on what matters (the Lord) and to keep from being overwhelmed by the stress and challenges here of running a humanitarian operation in a very unstable world.

My goal is really to just be fit again, but some of that means doing knee strengthening exercises almost daily and doing neck stretching (traction) every day as well as cardio and strength training. Since I've started I decided it would also be good to get my weight back down to my college weight of about 170 lbs (currently 185 lbs). I love golf, snorkeling, long walks on beaches and general adventure when I get vacation time. Zanzibar island is one of my regular places to visit. Maybe I'll see you out there some time.


Member Since: 10/22/2011

Fitness Minutes: 31,028

My Goals:
To get back in reasonably good physical condition.

To strengthen my knee so I can play sports or exercise without days of pain.

To improve my spiritual disciplines as I improve the physical (daily study, prayer and meditation).

To find healthy ways of eating and living in Darfur.


My Program:
5x /wk special knee strengthening exercises.
cardio 6 times a week.
neck traction 7x / wk

For cardio I have some step exercises that also strengthen my knees and different DVDs.

Strength is also a combo of dumbell workouts, using my own body weight and DVDs.



Personal Information:
I'm a single humanitarian worker from Dallas, TX. I have lived in Uzbekistan, Afghanistan and Sudan for the last 15 years. My life was changed by the Lord 30 years ago and I want to walk with Him faithfully all of my days. I'm 47 and still going strong!


Other Information:
I love all things outdoors, playing guitar and singing with friends and anything that has to do with a beach or discovering new adventures. Some day I plan to move to an island with some friends and live out the rest of my days!




Read More About TXTRAIN2004 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated November 7)




Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:


My Program:


Personal Information:


Other Information:


Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
SparkFriends
SP_STAFF SPARKGUY        
Secrets of Success
This user doesn't have any secrets of success.
Login to Leave Comment
Comments