TERRIJ7
200,000-249,999 SparkPoints 239,525
SparkPoints
 
Photos

Rosie




Camping 2012




my kitchen


SparkGoodies

Gardening Tools
From:
CANTATA

Fruit Salad
From:
IAMNOT61

Easter Basket
From:
Almost empty ne...
Awards

 
Interact with TERRIJ7
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment


Hi, I'm Terri J and I am: Married 42 years to the man of my dreams--honestly! Mother of 7, with all the children out on their own, 3 married, one engaged. Grandmother (Nanny) to 14 (so far). Our first great grandchild is expected this summer. I've been with Spark for a long time and have lost and regained more than once. Two foot surgeries kept me from walking, which is my cardio exercise of choice and I just slowly put the weight back on--and then some. Since the surgery, I've had an ankle injury and now plantar fasciitis that makes walking for very long--or fast--painful. I'm not giving up, though! I'm still here and staying in contact with my teams and the friends I've made here. I have learned so much about what constitutes a healthy lifestyle from Spark People that I don't think I'll ever be able to ignore my health again. I WILL get back on track and regain the ground I've lost in strength and stamina and I will re-LOSE this weight and more. I'm not in a hurry--I have the rest of my life to get it done!

Member Since: 10/29/2008

Fitness Minutes: 46,655

My Goals:
My immediate goal is to be able to move! I want to be strong enough and flexible enough to live my life and enjoy my family.
I want to take this weight off so I don't have to pack it around. I don't have any health issues and I'd like to get rid of the extra weight before I develop any!

*My first goal is to get my weight below 200 lbs.
*Next, to get my BMI below 30--out of the obesity range.
*I'd like to eventually participate in a walk/run event


My Program:
I am committed to walking at least 15 minutes a day, 5x per week. As my feet will allow, I will increase this.

I will watch my portions and try to eat smaller meals, more often, ie: 300-500 calorie meals 4 or 5 times a day with lean protein, complex carbs, and as little fat as is practical for someone who likes meat.



Personal Information:
I'm not one to share much personal information in this kind of venue, but will say that I do enjoy meeting people and interacting with friends.
My husband is my best friend in the whole world and the delight of my life. We've been married since we were kids and are now enjoying his retirement. We don't travel (much), but enjoy having more time together, helping our kids with their home projects and spending time with the grandchildren.
One of my favorite things to do is planting trees and watching them grow. I like marking time by growing things.


Other Information:
I don't lose weight easily! I never used to gain it easily, either, until I began to go through menopause...now I have to work out just to stay even!
2009~
I've had problems with my feet and have had reconstructive surgery on one of them.
2010~
I had a second surgery to remove the screws that were causing some pain, and all of that really got me off my walking regimen! I've gained back the entire 25 lbs I had lost +10 more!
2011~
I'm starting from scratch with the Spark program except that I now have all the information I need. I KNOW what I have to do and simply need to get started. I will take baby steps and build my strength and habits slowly.
2012~
I've been up and down on the scale and in activity.
2013~
An ankle injury and months of PT and healing.
2014~
Time to start from where I am and do what I am able to do. The body doesn't heal and recover as quickly as it used to. Now dealing with plantar fasciitis in my other foot.




Read More About TERRIJ7 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated January 24)




Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:


My Program:


Personal Information:


Other Information:


Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
Current Status:
Secrets of Success
This user doesn't have any secrets of success.
My Ticker:
 April Minutes: 512
 
0
150
300
450
600
Login to Leave Comment
Comments
  • v PERSISTENTTIM
    Thank you for the support! Right now we are looking for a rehab place to help me walk while doing exercises here and working toward being as prepared for rehab as possible. The lymphedema specialist has had a lot of success with the mass as far as hardness and getting some fluid out, I'm urinating more and the sores are leaking more. The mass looks real bad, I'll have a pic of a small part in my next blog but it will be that way until it heals, it's getting darker and lots of blood seems to be there. Have a great weekend my friend!
    54 days ago
  • v PERSISTENTTIM
    Thank you so much for the support, kind words, and understanding! I am not going anywhere now but was going to be on a show which would have required a contract that stated I could not do any videos or talk about my health for a once signed until a year after it aired so it would have been more than two years. Things may be looking up here in Kansas, I'm putting up a new blog tonight and maybe tomorrow if I have good news. I hope you're well, have a great night my friend!
    56 days ago
  • v WAXXIEKAXXIE
    Hello Terri!!!
    So happy to hear from you. Thanks so much for the kind words my friend:). Hubby has been so so supportive. It is really amazing how things are today compared to when I first began this journey. I really had to fight for my life!!. Although he has been very supportive to me, no he has not developed my new way of life, unfortunately:(. I hope and pray that one day he will jump on the band wagon. emoticon to you.


    58 days ago
  • v PERSISTENTTIM
    Thank you for the support Terri, I'll be around a bit longer due to delays! Have a great week my friend!
    59 days ago
  • v PERSISTENTTIM
    Thank you for the support Terri! Have a happy Valentine's Day!
    71 days ago
Member Comments (479):  << First< Previous23456Next >Last >>