TEAMDIABETES
30,000-39,999 SparkPoints 35,249
SparkPoints
 
Photos

The old girl coming into the Olympic Stadium in Athens, Greece. Yipee!








My new running buddy I met while running the London marathon (he ran for Diabetes UK)


SparkGoodies

Stability Ball
From:
TEAMDIABETES

Sunshine
From:
I.M.MAGIC

Holly
From:
Dog Motivators
Awards

 
Interact with TEAMDIABETES
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment


I am currently a 56 year old runner who trains for full marathons in other countries for the cause, The Canadian Diabetes Association. I am getting ready to climb Machu Picchu in Peru in July 2012. I tore my meniscus while running London, England and finding it difficult to get back in the swing of things after the surgery. I hike a lot and this seemed ideal. The "boys" are getting older too and I can see their ages catching up to both of them. I am renovating my house and right in the middle of the last floor. I volunteer at an animal shelter and merchandise for a good friend in the evenings.

Member Since: 1/18/2006

My Goals:
I would really like to see 160 - 165. That would put my BMI at the acceptable range.


My Program:
The biggest weight loss came from weight training & diet in the beginning. When I needed to up that energy to get off the plateau I was on, I started running. I eat fairly clean and like Tosca Reno tips in "Clean Eating." I went to night school and took the Personal Trainer and Nutrition & Wellness Specialist courses so that I could educate myself.



Personal Information:
My 30 year marriage ended 6 years ago. To get out of that bad place I was in, I started to run. While I dislike running, I hate what diabetics have to go through every day so I started to train for a marathon, running with Team Diabetes. I saw first hand what the disease did to my best friend, my Mom, when it took her life. I run as a tribute to her. My marriage ended and I got over it but not a day goes by that I don't miss my Mom. London, England will be my 5th marathon. I think I am going to try a half. I really dislike running (did I say that already?.) I have heart disease and asthma so I struggle with the running. My goal was to run 5 in 5 years and raise $50,000. I am happy to say, I have met all those goals!


Other Information:
While I do own a TV, I am not a TV watcher but I really like movies and reading. I share my life with a Pyrennes/Husky cross, Tundra and a Rottie, Pheonix. Needless to say, I spend a lot of time going for walks.




Read More About TEAMDIABETES - Profile Information moved here. (Updated November 28)




Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:


My Program:


Personal Information:


Other Information:


Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 194.2 
 
220
206.25
192.5
178.75
165
Login to Leave Comment
Comments
Member Comments (38):  < Previous12345Next >Last >>