RUBYDOG

SparkPoints
 
Photos

The Pembrokeshire coast where I live




Our daft (but adored) dog




Grey seal


Awards

 
Interact with RUBYDOG
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts


I'm a new and highly delighted Grandma and wanted to feel fit and fun rather than fat and frumpy! My own kids have pretty much flown the nest so time to have fun, travel, etc. Had forgotten how much I love clothes - had resorted to wearing sloppy joes and partner'sjumpers. No more though. I'm now enjoying my new shape and discovering that I can look pretty good in jeans and vests again.

Lots planned including weekend in Dublin, week in Italy and 50th birthday celebratory trip on the Marrkesh express in September. Loads of incentive to get to my goal and stay there.

I'm now running four/five times a week on the treadmill or on the beach as well as going to fitball and pilates class. Its taken me almost a year to get to that stage as I hadn't broken into a trot for 10 years. Now I absolutely love it and have to exercise discipline to NOT run one or two days a week to give my body a rest. NEVER thought I'd say that!

Would love to hear from any like minded souls who like a laugh and could use a friendly chat from time to time...Mail me...Go on...


Member Since: 5/15/2006

Fitness Minutes: 202

My Goals:
1. To get to my 50th birthday in September feeling strong fit and young. (Going to Morocco on the Marrkesh Express to celebrate!)

2.Do a 5km Race for Life sponsored run and beat 38 mins from when I walked it last year. (Not much to some of you I know! )

3. Be at my goal weight by the end of May 2007.


My Program:
1. Beach run and/or gym sessions 4/5 times a week. Pilates and fitball class once a week too.

2. Think shorts and strappy top everytime I open the fridge.

3. Focus on fitness and healthy eating rather than weight loss.



Personal Information:
My time is spent working with my partner in his building project management business, doing some voluntary work helping young families, taking photographs and making things for fun (see monkey picture). I live in Pembrokeshire, Wales, UK with my husband and dotty dog. Sometimes my 18 year old son is still around but my two daughters are grown up and have flown the next. Having totally hated sports at school due to self consciousness, I now LOVE to run.


Other Information:
1. Music Anything from Gotan Project to Basement Jaxx

2. Book - If nobody speaks of remarkable things by Jon McGregor or The Catcher in the Rye by J D Salinger.

3. Film: The Long Engagement (French film with Audrey Tatou just in case you haven't heard of it.)




Read More About RUBYDOG - Profile Information moved here.




Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:


My Program:


Personal Information:


Other Information:


Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
Secrets of Success
This user doesn't have any secrets of success.
My Ticker:
 
Login to Leave Comment
Comments
  • v WISHFUL7
    Hi Ya

    How you doing
    3382 days ago
  • v JENNIEM6666
    Hey stranger, I see you're doing the virtual 5k too. Good luck with it. I'm doing mine around Wollaton Park (big country estate in Notts) so should be fun. Hope you're ok and enjoying spending time with your grandson.
    3417 days ago
  • v DISNUTT
    Hi Ruby,

    Saw your posting on the Chi Running group. I loved your profile picture of the tiny toes! My 11 yo daughter wants to learn to make toys like your monkey. I'm not very crafty so finding someone to help her is going to be a chore.

    Best wishes,
    Kiena
    3420 days ago
  • v AELARLEE
    Hey Ruby! Thanks for the great compliment on my page! Wow, you are a success story and an inspiration with your loss. Isn't it great to be still moving, learning, and growing? I am excited for the 50's as we break the mold of past generations!

    Anet

    3431 days ago
  • v CRYSTALQUEEN
    Hi, Ruby!

    Great work on the huge loss!!

    Good luck with your Race for Life!!

    Tonia
    3432 days ago
Member Comments (21):  123Next >Last >>