RETIREDSUE
30,000-39,999 SparkPoints 32,578
SparkPoints
 
Photos





My son, the triathlete and marathon runner, and I at a cold rainy football game.




Visiting the 2012 Grey Cup train


SparkGoodies

Gift Card
From:
People in Ontar...

Bullseye
From:
2016 Summer The...

Thank You Card
From:
DOROTHYBERO
Awards

 
Interact with RETIREDSUE
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts


Hi
I joined Spark people five and a half years ago(September 2010) but have had trouble "staying the course" at times. While I have good general health, I know that excess weight and lack of activity are not conducive to staying healthy long term. As the grandma of a now-active 3 year old grandson I want to be around for a LONG time (and keep up with him when we go to visit him in Calgary or when he comes to visit us (hopefully this summer).

I did the 5%Spring Challenge as a member of the Awesome A's team and made some more great Spark friends during that challenge. I'm thrilled that I not only made my goal of losing 11 lbs but surpassed it by a little bit! The challenge motivated me to bump up my exercise which probably helped me to reach my goal. I'm now participating the Summer challenge and will be working to meet my goal of losing just under 10 lbs!

Long term, I want to be at or close to my goal weight by the beginning of 2017. After close to 6 months working towards this goal, I have just made it to the halfway point, which gives me confidence that I should be able to get to that final goal weight within that time frame, as long as I continue to do what I've been doing.

I enjoy reading and knitting - not very active pastimes! I have not yet mastered the art of reading while on a treadmill! I do go to a weekly knitting group which has been meeting at our local library but is now moving to our lakeside park for the summer months. I have walked to the library and plan to walk to the park which is twice as far. I'll need to tote a chair and lunch as well as my knitting so it will be a good workout every week if I follow through on my plan! It'll be a weekly 5 km trek! I enjoy singing in - and sometimes conducting - a small choir that visits several nursing/retirement homes each month from October to May. I'm a big CFL football fan and enjoy following my favourite team during the season, which has just begun, and off-season too! I'm looking forward to attending (with my DH) their big Labour Day game against their biggest rivals!



Member Since: 9/2/2010

Fitness Minutes: 13,042

My Goals:
Lose weight
Develop a more active lifestyle with regular exercise
Stay committed to my goals!


My Program:
Exercise 6 times a week
Track food and exercise daily
Eat more veggies and fruit.



Personal Information:
From Orillia ON
Retired from teaching 9 years ago.
Married to my hubby for more than 38 years.


Other Information:




Read More About RETIREDSUE - Profile Information moved here. (Updated June 25)




Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:


My Program:


Personal Information:


Other Information:


Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
Secrets of Success
My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 89.0 
 
0
37.5
75
112.5
150
Login to Leave Comment
Comments
Member Comments (55):  123Next >Last >>