RACHEL2WRITER

SparkPoints
 
Photos

My reward shoes - buying these ridiculous, I'd never wear them heels when I get below 200 pounds




With my family Christmas 2012 - 240 pounds




In memory of my sister, Greta. She died Dec 2011 at 44 from kidney failure and type I diabetes.


SparkGoodies

Valentine
From:
NONFATBLONDE

Sunshine
From:
MELISSA19701

New Shoes
From:
SAEABRYONY
Awards

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
 
Interact with RACHEL2WRITER
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts


I'm a master's-degreed working mom with 2 daughters, age 17 and 11. I'm married to my high school sweetheart, and we live in a suburb north of Dallas/Fort Worth, TX. I was diagnosed with Hashimoto's thyroiditis (autoimmune hypothyroidism) in Feb 1996, and have spent all these years learning to live well with the disease.

I started this journey in February 2012 at 260 pounds. I lost about 20 pounds off and on in 2012, and then refocused my efforts to get healthy by joining a gym for my 40th birthday November 2012. I quit smoking Jan 2, 2013.

The moment things changed in my life was December 2, 2011. My sister died at age 44 from complications of type I diabetes and kidney failure waiting for her 2nd kidney transplant. After her early death, I started to really examine my own health. I watched her die slowly for the 5 or 6 years since she went into kidney failure. While I didn't have any serious health conditions at age 39, I was on the way...over 100 pounds overweight, smoking 1-2 packs a day, drinking way too much, and eating whatever I wanted. It was only a matter of time before I developed type II diabetes, hypertension, or a whole host of health issues.


Member Since: 7/27/2011

Fitness Minutes: 1,594

My Goals:
My goals are to make slow, real changes in nutrition, fitness, and emotional well-being.


My Program:
Half my gym time on cardio, half on strength training - goal is 4 times per week minimum
Eating real food - primarily vegetables, whole grains, fruits, lean proteins, low-fat dairy

I've cut out sodas, refined sugar, refined grains, most fast food, etc.



Personal Information:
Born and raised in Dallas/Ft. Worth area of Texas
Master's degreed professional


Other Information:
I love gardening, experimenting with new recipes, reading, and listening to music




Read More About RACHEL2WRITER - Profile Information moved here. (Updated January 11)




Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:


My Program:


Personal Information:


Other Information:


Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 236.4 
 
260
231.25
202.5
173.75
145
Login to Leave Comment
Comments