Iochromas in my garden.

A hummingbird in my garden.

Hubby and I in Buenos Aires, Argentina.


Thank You Message


Thank You Card

Shared Fitness Tracker
Interact with PATRICIA-CR
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment

Hello from Costa Rica! I'm a Costa Rican, living in Costa Rica.

What I've found, so far, in my journey to losing weight and maintenance:

1. It's all up to you, nobody else, though the encouragement and support of people (i.e. SP) is a must.

2. Calories-in HAVE to be less than calories-out for losing weight. For maintenance it has become a matter of eating similar every day including a little indulge every day at lunch.

3. I had a hard time when losing weight and I'm having a hard time maintaining (sorry but for me, hard time means "suffering" and it's what best describes this journey! I feel we're dealing with a basic instinct, that's why it's so difficult to handle!), though it has been totally worth it. I'm still hoping for this journey to become easier with time... Don't know if it ever will.

My weight loss story:

For about 3 years, I was unable to get the motivation and determination (the big push) necessary to embrace and enjoy a complete change in my lifestyle seriously, until I got into the 5% challenges. I was always procrastinating the big start.

Thanks to the 2014 Summer 5% Challenge, I lost 5.4 pounds. And to the 2014 Fall 5% Challenge, I lost 4.6 pounds more and reached my goal weight (a total of 10 lbs lost). Aiming a more middle range BMI, I decided to go for 126 lbs which I reached (for a grand total of 19 lbs lost since I joined SP).

I am extremely happy I've found invaluable friends along this lifelong journey here at SP. My dear mentor: Ramona, GODS_TEMPLE.

Member Since: 12/5/2010

Fitness Minutes: 197,059

My Goals:
To have fun, sharing and accomplishing goals together with my SP friends in this lifelong health journey.

I reached my goal weight on Nov 8, 2014. My center weight is 126 pounds. The lifelong challenge of maintenance has begun.

My Program:
5% Spring Challenge 2016 Exercise Commitment
A minimum of 60 m of exercise, walking/hiking/other, 6 days a week. This may include 30 min of stretching and ST, 2 to 3 days a week.

As for my diet, nothing specific but to eat as healthy as possible within my calorie range to maintain or lose weight.

Personal Information:
I live in Grecia, Alajuela, Costa Rica, in the mountains (at an altitude of 4757 ft). Married for a lot of years (almost 39). 3 grown-up kids already gone, and three grandkids. I'm currently working as a caregiver at home for my granddaughter 6, and her baby brother 10 months old.
My first SparkFriend in this page is my daughter and my granddaughter (pic taken about 5 years ago).

Other Information:
Besides my family, I love my daily routine of exercise, the Internet forums -SP, reading, watching movies, my pets, 3 dogs - 3 cats. I love to travel overseas, but can't afford to do so as often as I'd like to.
I'm an atheist with total respect for people's beliefs.

Read More About PATRICIA-CR - Profile Information moved here. (Updated May 13)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
Current Status:
This user doesn't have any public blog entries.
My Ticker:
262 Days until:  End of Full Time Baby Care
Login to Leave Comment
    Thank you so much for your kind words on my blog today! I truly appreciate it...and you!
    Have a wonderful Sunday! emoticon

    13 days ago
    Thanks for stopping by and looking at the blog, I think the pictures help us see the world in a different perspective. I can only imagine the beauty in your country and the wide variety of fauna and flora there. What a photographer's paradise.
    14 days ago
    Does your Mom have her own place or is she in a retirement home? I have a friend (a guy) who is 95 and just suffered what he called a "mini stroke" which left his right arm useless. But after just 3 days in the hospital they left him go into rehab and after another 3 days he does not have full use of it, but they declared him good enough to go back home. He lives way out in the country, but does have good close neighbors. You always worry that the next "mini" will be the last but one never knows. This one didn't even affect his speech.

    Do you have brothers and sisters to talk it over with or is it all up to you? That does make it hard. Making decisions with no one to use as a sounding board is a tough deal. My daughter has a very serious problem, but my DH doesn't want to hear about it -- it's his step-daughter and he seems more interested in friends he knows than he is about her. I'm all she has besides her daughter, and she is broke, without a job. Bad situation all around.

    Prayers & support to you, you can always vent with me,
    15 days ago
    emoticon Thanks! And back at you!
    18 days ago
  • v TEAGIRL49
    You are so right! I am concentrating on the fact that I am a mom to two beautiful grown daughters. Happy Mother's Day to you! Thank you for visiting my blog. Hope you have a wonderful day! emoticon
    20 days ago
Member Comments (983):  < Previous1234Next >Last >>