MARATEIXEIRA
4,000-5,499 SparkPoints 5,196
SparkPoints
 
Photos





A pic from long ago (maybe 2003?) anyway I just love that kayak - (Katabatik sea kayak)




My cat Nikita :) I have one more adult cat and 5 kittens


SparkGoodies

Key
From:
Streak to Succe...

Swimming Gear
From:
STRANGER70127

Workout Shoes
From:
SMARGED
Awards

 
Interact with MARATEIXEIRA
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment


I've been using Sparks (in and out) since I was 29, I am now 33 and still struggling with my weight, its been like this for as long as I can remember. I tend to become depressive and usually that shows in my body.
This past summer I was at my biggest weight ever at 67 kg. I've been living in denial, and avoiding looking at the scale. I always like clothes and learn to cover up with dark colors. After looking at those number, and acknowledging then, I realize its up to me to make a change.
I've been diagnose with Gluten Intolerance last year, but if I have to be honest I didn't take it as a real problem and kept indulging in gluten packed goods from time to time. This Summer, while on vacations I eat pizza and bread again. I was so sick after with stomach and back pain and was so bloated, and that was my wake up call. I went to the doctor and face the scale. Those 67 kg were really hard to take, but after instead of going to comfort food I decided to try to go Gluten Free and back to the gym.
I used to practice outdoors sports like kayaking and running, but now I never find the energy to get out of bed and move my butt. It's been really hard, because I have to deal with all the emotional baggage that got me here in the first place. Overall I am a very outgoing person but lately I was always trying to find a good excuse to refuse my friends invitations to go out and socialize.
My goal is to go back to 52 kg and in the process become a lot more confident. So far I've lost 6 kg since August and I'm aiming to reach 57 kg until Christmas Eve. To be below 60 kg is to be in a healthy BMI an no longer in the overweight category. So I'll take baby steps and small goals, first 60 kg, then 57, 55 and hopefully 52 at the end of this journey.


Member Since: 4/26/2011

Fitness Minutes: 7,529

My Goals:
After 4 year the goals are more or less the same:
-Run a 5k and do a lot more kayak races than last year.
-lose 10kg
-wear a bikini
-tone up

New Goals:
- be happy
- enjoy life
- fall in love
- get a boyfriend
- get married and have beautiful babies (why not)


My Program:
- gym 3 times a week
-long walks outdoors
-yoga for balance (mental and physical)
- Sea Kayak
-running (I still don't like running)



Personal Information:
I'm Mara, I'm 33, single with 3 cats. I'm from the Portuguese Island Madeira and work in IT.
I've been part of Spark People for the last 5 year. I realize that when I'm more active in this community I stick to the healthy plan and lifestyle. I also realize now that if I'm not ok to the way I look I'm make a lot of excuses to not let anyone get to close, because of all my body issues.


Other Information:
I love to read, I have all sort of books, from the classics, to contemporary romances, to fantasy or criminals, it depends on my mood at the time.
Some of my favorite writes are Daniel Silva, Kathy Reich, Kresley Cole and many, many others.
I also I'm totally addicted in The Sims video games. I've been building and playing since The Sims came out.
I practice kayaking and am in the local referee team. In 2013 I went to my first international competition has an official and it was an amazing experience.




Read More About MARATEIXEIRA - Profile Information moved here. (Updated November 17)




Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:


My Program:


Personal Information:


Other Information:


Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
Secrets of Success
This user doesn't have any secrets of success.
My Ticker:
 current weight: 130.0 
 
145
137.25
129.5
121.75
114
Login to Leave Comment
Comments
Member Comments (18):  123Next >Last >>