MAINLADY
15,000-19,999 SparkPoints 17,414
SparkPoints
 
SparkGoodies

Relaxation Music
From:
MARTHA-ANN

Flowers
From:
MARTHA-ANN

Two Thumbs Up
From:
MAINLADY
Awards

Shared Food Tracker
 
Interact with MAINLADY
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts


Hi..my name is Sharon and I live in Central Florida. I'm a cancer survivor and I feel eternally grateful that the good Lord is not done with me yet.

I'm still dealing with back issues which keeps me from being very active, but my main concern now is diabetes and keeping it under control.

I just completed a four-week diabetes class and learned so much about ways to eat healthy, watch those carbs and see my numbers come down. It's amazing how easy it really is as long as my mind in the right place.

My 58th class reunion was this past June. So many of my classmates have already passed on so I feel blessed that I'm still here. I haven't been very fair to God though; He who has kept me here for a reason. I talk the talk, but certainly haven't walked the walk. If I intend on being here in another five years, which will make me 81 years old and I hope to be, I have to get serious. Knowing that I'm in control and always have been is the eye-opener. I was looking for an easy fix and there isn't one. It's all about me and how badly do I want this.

So, this is it! No more kidding around and I'm not giving up. I'm on a campaign to lose enough weight to at least be healthy and walk the walk.





Member Since: 4/12/2006

Fitness Minutes: 2,243

My Goals:
My goal is ultimately to get healthy; one day at a time, one pound at a time. If I trip and stumble, I will get back up and start again.


My Program:
I will use SP as a food planner/tracker along with sensible eating. No more cheating or making bad choices. I'm going to start exercising with chair exercises to help with cardio and strengthening. I have to get this old bod moving.

I will track daily and blog once a week.



Personal Information:
I'm interested in many things. I love to pen pal and I write to 21 ladies all over the USA. I'm also Queen of a Red Hat Society chapter. I also enjoy counted x-stitching, ceramics, a little gardening, travel, reading, stage shows, and figure skating (watching it). I've lived in Montana, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Virginia, and now Florida. I've been married fourteen years to my old high school steady which has been a lot of fun. He's a great husband. We share six adult children, nine grandchildren, four great-granddaughters and recently our first great-grandson. We're both retired and living the good life.


Other Information:
I'm an author and just published my fourth novel which I wrote with my son. Something he wanted to do so we did it. "Cosgrove Cove" was published last December. My other books are "Detours of the Heart," "Stony Creek Diner," "A Time to Reboot," the second book in the Stony Creek Series, and I'm working on my fifth novel, "Reflections of the Heart," the sequel to "Detours." I've also written a few short stories; one published. I belong to a photographers club, book writing workshop, the Write Corner,The Florida's Writers Association, Romance Writers of America, Writers League of the Villages.




Read More About MAINLADY - Profile Information moved here. (Updated July 6)




Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:


My Program:


Personal Information:


Other Information:


Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 0.0 
 
0
5.75
11.5
17.25
23
Login to Leave Comment
Comments
Member Comments (947):  < Previous1234Next >Last >>