100,000-149,999 SparkPoints 110,372

Daily participant in the summer 5% challenge

Vacation 2016

Drinking water for the summer challenge and for health!


Thank You Card

Green Tea
Accountability ...

Thank You Message

Interact with MADAMES
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment

"You are never too old to set another goal or to dream a new dream." C.S. Lewis

I am a retired teacher who has been caring for aging parents these past ten years. My dad passed away in April, so now we ARE the older generation. I am coping with the loss and trying to adjust to the empty nester syndrome with DH; we spent so much time and energy taking care of our four parents that we are having to adjust to being home alone with each other! There is much to be done to settle the estate, but right now we are putting that on hold in order to process the loss and to take time to breathe again.

Many of my healthy habits have slipped by the wayside. This summer I have been able to muster the strength to begin to turn this around! I have been successful with Sparkpeople in the past, and I know I can do it again.

Member Since: 9/12/2009

Fitness Minutes: 148,327

My Goals:
To be positive with each new challenge.
To learn new things.
To enjoy the moment.
To be grateful. "In all things, give thanks"
To really listen to others.
To forgive others.
To be a role model.

Things to work on:
To begin to care more about my appearance.
To really work on strength training.
To really work on stretching.
To cook more and to eat out less frequently.

My Program:
Choose healthy foods most of the time.
Eat mindfully.
Water aerobics 3x weekly (Love, love, love this! )
Weigh every morning.
Wear Fitbit to motivate me
Weight Watchers meetings weekly.

Personal Information:
My husband and I live in a small town not far from the greater Atlanta area. While caring for our four parents, DH has developed some health problems that have changed our lives.

In June of 2012 I retired from teaching, a career that I embarked upon in 1972. During those 40 years I taught full time for 26 years and was a stay at home mom for 14 years.

I did not start any type of exercise program until I hit some roadblocks in my 60s. I am not proud of that, but I am proof that it is NEVER too late to start taking care of yourself.

Other Information:
I love to spend time with my daughter, son-in-law and two granddaughters
(ages 12 and 14) who live in the Atlanta area. Our other daughter, son-in-law and four grandsons live in West Virginia.

I love the tranquility of nature. Gardening and feeding the birds are my daily indulgences. I enjoy walking outdoors.

I love coffee, and I love chocolate.

I now love exercise (amazing, but true). I didn't begin any form of exercise program until I was in my 60s, following a serious accident. What a difference today!

Read More About MADAMES - Profile Information moved here. (Updated July 15)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 September Minutes: 966
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (3027):  < Previous12345Next >Last >>