LA_BELLA_BAMA
4,000-5,499 SparkPoints 4,448
SparkPoints
 
Photos









My fairy tattoo


SparkGoodies

Balloons
From:
KATIAT325

Knitting Supplies
From:
NEVERORNOW

Workout Shoes
From:
LA_BELLA_BAMA
Awards

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
 
Interact with LA_BELLA_BAMA
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts


I have struggled with my weight for about 20 years now. I'd lose, then gain it back and then some. Add to that the fact that I had a total hysterectomy when I was 24, then my gall bladder removed, and about 5 other surgeries somewhere before, after and in between and my metabolism just shut down. Diabetes followed soon after, and my struggle just worsened. Finally, I had enough.

I had lap band surgery on May 29, 2008. I weighed over 300 lbs when I started this journey on April 7, 2008, and I'm now down 140 lbs.

When I first started out, my goals were simple. I wanted to be rid of diabetes. I met that goal. I know I will always be "diabetic", but mine is completely diet controlled. My endocrinologist even said, "don't come back, unless something happens". RELEASED from her care. Woohooo!

I wanted to be able to play with my grandchildren and not be worn out. I wanted to be healthier and happier. And I am. I've met those goals.

But... as we all do, I've gotten a little lazy over the last several months. I've gained just a few pounds. Not enough to have me screaming, but I GAINED. So.... it's time to get that Spark back and get back to exercising and getting back to LOSING.

So, here I am. Again.

When I first joined, I had done as a lot of other people had, and made a list of actual rewards for reaching their goals. This is my newly modified list.

So.. here's my list - at 5% increments.

Starting weight 181.
172 - One non-sale item from the store of my choice.
163 - a manicure AND pedicure
155 - a special geocaching weekend
147 - trip to Buckle for jeans
140 - something special to be determined, for meeting my goal.




Member Since: 7/7/2008

Fitness Minutes: 3,053

My Goals:
My current mini-goal:

1. Lose 8 pounds in August

2. To NOT be the last person to complete the diabetes walk this year!



My Program:
Lap-band surgery May 29, 2008.

Exercising a minimum of 3 days per week - usually 60 minutes on treadmill and 30-45 in the pool.

Daily food journaling of every bite I take without beating myself up over anything.



Personal Information:
40 year old mother of one living somewhere in Central Alabama.


Other Information:
Volunteer Fire Fighter / Basic First Responder / Haz Mat A&O certified.

Mom of 1
Avid crocheter. Geocacher.
Civil War/living history reenactor.

Married 24 years to my best friend and the most wonderful man on the planet.




Read More About LA_BELLA_BAMA - Profile Information moved here. (Updated August 16)




Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:


My Program:


Personal Information:


Other Information:


Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
Blogs
Secrets of Success
This user doesn't have any secrets of success.
My Ticker:
 current weight: 204.0 
 
316
272
228
184
140
Login to Leave Comment
Comments
Member Comments (223):  123Next >Last >>