500-999 SparkPoints 537


The Spark

Interact with KIMP2011
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment

My name is Kim and I'm a 23 year old woman living in Southern Minnesota and teaching in Northwest Iowa! I stumbled upon SparkPeople while searching for fat-free recipes and I have to say I've become a bit obsessed with this website and everything it has to offer! I have been struggling with my weight for the past year and a half now and I'm hoping SP is the final boost I need to get to my goal weight of 135-140 pounds! I graduated high school in that weight range, went off to college, waited until the summer after my Sophomore year to gain that dreaded "Freshmen 15" and then added about 35 more pounds to that the following year or so. I blame it on a very rough break-up and the fact that used summer as an excuse to drink too much beer and eat too much fried food. When I finally realized how much I had gained in the past year and a half, it was one of those things where I just woke up one morning and was sick with what I saw in the mirror. I've tried various "diets" and work-outs and I was even on a prescription appetite suppressant for a few months. It's been a long, stressful road but I am down from 190 to 150 since October 2010. Just this past June I met a wonderful guy and we have been dating for 8 months and we started working this summer to lose weight together. I have lost almost 15 pounds just by eating healthier and am now at a steady 150, but I seem to have plateaued there. We both want to lose 10-15 pounds by mid-April for his brother's wedding but I feel like I'm stuck at this weight. I'm loving the recipes I've found so far on SP and am still trying to figure out how to really navigate everything SP has to offer, but I really feel this is the little "umph" I am needing to get out there, work off these last few pounds, and be happy and healthy again! Like my boyfriend says, we are both in our early 20's. There is no excuse for us to be overweight. So, here I go! :-)

Member Since: 1/19/2012

Fitness Minutes: 464

My Goals:
Lose 15 pounds by April 14

Work out 4-5 times per week

Eat healthier and track what I eat each day

My Program:
Using recipes from SparkPeople and make better decisions with my eating habits

Joined a fitness center with my boyfriend and I am working out 5 days a week

Personal Information:
My name is Kim and I currently live in a small town in Southwest Minnesota.

Other Information:

Read More About KIMP2011 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated January 31)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
Secrets of Success
This user doesn't have any secrets of success.
My Ticker:
 current weight: 140.0 
Login to Leave Comment
  • This user doesn't have any comments.