15,000-19,999 SparkPoints 16,877

Mud and Chocolate Trail Run; 3rd Woman to Finish!

Half Marathon on my 30th Bday

Eliza Runnin' like her mummy!


Medicine Ball

Thank You Card


Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with KATYMARIA
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

Hello, I am Kate; a 31 year old attorney, wife, and mum to my spunky Eliza Jane, born December, 2012. My plans of a natural birth center birth went south, and I ended up with an emergency C-section which hit me hard. I had never had a major surgery before and feeling so out of control of my body was new to me.

The first night back from the hospital I was in a lot of pain. I woke up and had to use the bathroom. I went in, and then realized I couldn't bend down to put my underwear back on. There I was, with no way to get dressed- I felt humiliated, ashamed, scared and helpless, and then my baby started to cry. Not only could I not take care of myself, I couldn't help my tiny newborn baby.

Little by little I started getting my body back, and then I found running. First I ran-walked my way up to a 5k, then a 10k, then my first half-marathon on my 30th b-day (where I came in 2nd in my age group) almost exactly nine months after she was born. The more I ran, the stronger I felt.

For me it isn't just about the speed- it is the emotional effects of running. I feel strong, I feel happy, I feel more in touch with nature and for the first time in my life I have learned to love my body. It may not be perfect, but now I can appreciate and love it despite its imperfections; it can create life, nourish that life, and push me across the finish line of a half marathon and that is just pretty damn amazing!

Running means so much to me, and I hope through this online community I can connect to others, share my passion with you all, and hopefully hear how fitness has changed your lives as well!

Member Since: 6/23/2008

Fitness Minutes: 17,618

My Goals:
Running Over an Hour: Completed

Running a 10k in Under an hour: Completed

Under 132: (The weight I was when I graduated high school in 2001): Completed

Goal Weight of 127: (pre-pregnancy weight) Completed (9 months post baby)

Run 7:30 average pace on a long run:

My Program:
Lovin' the run!

Personal Information:
I am from Seattle, where I finished law school. I have also spent lots of time abroad; I lived in Paris for a year, taught English in Argentina for 2 years and have traveled to; Mexico, Canada, Peru, Bolivia, Chile, Paraguay, Brazil, England, Ireland and Spain.

Other Information:

Read More About KATYMARIA - Profile Information moved here. (Updated December 1)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (168):  < Previous12345Next >Last >>