5,500-6,999 SparkPoints 5,620

One of our hottub bubble parties!

My hubby, putting the windshield on the golfcart at our campground site.

our home away from home, at least on the weekends


Mini Trampoline


Fitness Magazine

Interact with KARENF615
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I am a 61 year old female, diagnosed with type 2 diabetes in September of 2008, nice birthday present huh? I finally a good A1C reading in September 2012 of 6.7, now I am on metformin and Toujeojfor the diabetes, among other meds for other reasons. So far my numbers stay in a good range, altho they have been know to teeter over 160 but that is because a cookie or piece of candy attacked me. I have to really buckle down and eat right, no more fast food breakfast and sweet treats in the afternoon. I do not want to have to use insulin, I have an immense fear of needles! So I am going to do my best to get the weight off and the numbers down. I have a great support person in my husband, who also has type 2, but his metabolism is such that he has no issues regardless of what he eats, but does need to shed a few pounds. We are going to do this together, although I don't know if I can get him to do this part of it. I look forward to connecting with others who are in the same situation that we are and make new friends to share support. We camp every weekend and have started doing more outside instead of sitting at the computers all weekend (we are hooked on World of Warcraft...yes even at our age!)

Member Since: 5/6/2011

Fitness Minutes: 405

My Goals:
My initial goal is to lose 50 pounds. My doctor wants to see a significant weight loss in 3 months but not as much as my goal.

My Program:
To start I am monitoring my caloric intake, keeping the carbs in check and trying to increase my activity with walking, then get on the eliptical once it gets moved to the "office" in the garage. Right now it's in the front bedroom, away from everything and not very inviting to spend time on. In the garage at least I can talk to my hubby while he plays on the computer, and we might put a tv in there.

Personal Information:
I am from west burbs of Chicago. My husband and I live there with out cat, Missy Dawg. She is our main source of entertainment.
We camp on the weekends and really look forward to this time away from everything and everyone. We have also discovered that we tend to eat less at camp, since there isn't that much room in our camper to store stuff!

Other Information:
I play World of Warcraft, along with my husband. We use it as a stress buster and it really works.
I like to read also, have all the books John Grisham has written so far, and also enjoy Janet Evanovich and Donna Andrews books. I just recently started reading Nora Roberts (JD Robb) and I am always looking for a new authors who write mysteries.

Read More About KARENF615 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated October 4)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 13.0 
Login to Leave Comment
    Didn't know if you were still on here, but I thought I would stop by and say hello. Love your pictures!
    Hope you've had a great day and hope your week is emoticon

    1210 days ago
  • v PARKERB2
    Thanks for the comment. My bh takes me on long, long, up and down mountains hikes. So he knows I'm in good shape both mentally and physically and he's who is important with his opinion, just like your. So congratulations to you and keep up the good work.
    2492 days ago
    Thanks for the comment. Originally I had 44 pounds to lose. I'm around 15 pounds lost so far. I started on March 15th. I was under the impression even with strength training that if you ate right and exercised regularly you could lose 1-2 pounds a week. But not me.
    2493 days ago