ISMEME   55,059
SparkPoints
50,000-59,999 SparkPoints
 
 
September 11, 2015 at Emerald Bay Lake Tahoe just after the wedding ceremony.





A miniature figure from a cthuhlu based game similar to Monopoly





Taken after my first ever official race... a 10K race, partially in mud after a heavy morning rain.



I have 18 pics in my gallery





Awards





See All SparkPeople Motivators


 
One day at a time

I reached my goal weight January 2013 but due to a devastating knee injury, gained some back.

I have just graduated with my Ph.D. In Cancer Research and am having to contend with a poor job market for scientists at the moment due to funding. However, after several months of no job, I have landed one in quality control on the industry side. I love the job and people so far, but am now working on healthy habits in the work place.

I ran a few distance races in 2013, ...
I reached my goal weight January 2013 but due to a devastating knee injury, gained some back.

I have just graduated with my Ph.D. In Cancer Research and am having to contend with a poor job market for scientists at the moment due to funding. However, after several months of no job, I have landed one in quality control on the industry side. I love the job and people so far, but am now working on healthy habits in the work place.

I ran a few distance races in 2013, including a half marathon. Unfortunately the knee pain was intense and not normal afterwards and learned a few days later that I finished the half with no ACL in tact and had other ligaments torn and cartilage gone to the bone as well. This led to major bone surgery July 2013with double bone grafts in my lower leg to take the weight off of the side withou cartilage, months of physical therapy, a second surgery to reconstruct my ACL, LCL, and PLC with grafts, and additional months of physical therapy.

All of the mobility problems with the surgeries and recovery helped lead to some weight gain. I have now been cleared to run again (10K and under as tolerated) by my orthopedist but am having some pain when running and agility problems. However, I am not letting it stop me as I work at getting back to my goal weight before my wedding reception in April 2016. (Our wedding was a destination wedding held September 11, 2015 at Lake Tahoe)
Read More About ISMEME (Updated September 23)




SparkFriends



SparkTeams



My Ticker:

 current weight: 176.8 
 
220
196.25
172.5
148.75
125


 
Interact with ISMEME

Send Member a Private Message





Recent Blogs:





 
Profile

Member Since: 3/24/2011

SparkPoints: 55,059

Fitness Minutes: 60,214

My Goals:
I will get back to pre surgery weight and condition before my wedding reception April of 2016.

My Program:
I track my food and exercise regularly. I have been working on eating a variety of healthy foods, as I tend to get bored with food easily. I work out 6 days a week (a mix of cardio and strength training), as long as my knee tolerates.

Personal Information:
I am a new Ph.D. graduate adjusting to a new job and getting ready for my local reception April 23, 2016. The ceremony was a destination wedding Sept 11th, 2015 at Lake Tahoe.

Other Information:
I love cooking, playing video games, reading, doing crafts, working out, running, long-distance running ... and of course "playing" in the lab. :)

Profile Image





 
 



Rose
From:
5KGRANNY

Door
From:
COONSY

High Five
From:
KCSMOM9

Relaxation Music
From:
GRAMMAMARY

Clapping
From:
2016 Winter 5% ...

Snowflake
From:
5KGRANNY




Member Comments:
BUTTERFLYGRACE
11/18/2015 4:31:32 AM

emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon

There is no failure. Only feedback.
~Unknown

So, what feedback would you like today? Take the necessary steps to accomplish that!

emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon



Report Inappropriate Comment
BUTTERFLYGRACE
11/17/2015 4:39:52 AM

emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon

Habit is habit and not to be flung out of the window by any man, but coaxed downstairs a step at a time.
~Mark Twain

That's all we can take ... one step at a time. Rejoice in your progress!

emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon



Report Inappropriate Comment
BUTTERFLYGRACE
11/16/2015 4:29:29 AM

emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon

It’s the little details that are vital. Little things make big things happen.
~John Wooden

Take little steps today. Before you know it, you'll have achieved GREAT things!

emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon



Report Inappropriate Comment
BUTTERFLYGRACE
11/15/2015 8:26:09 AM

emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon

Whether you think you can or can’t, you’re right.
~Henry Ford

Let's think that we can and, at the end of the day, see that we were correct!

emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon



Report Inappropriate Comment
BUTTERFLYGRACE
11/14/2015 11:18:47 AM

emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon

First thing every morning before you arise, say out loud, ‘I believe’, three times.
~Norman Vincent Peale

I believe, I believe, I believe. See, that was really easy!

emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon emoticon



Report Inappropriate Comment
Member Comments Page (251 total):  < Previous1234Next >Last >>

See My SparkFavorites Report Inappropriate Page