HELENCHRISTINE   12,884
SparkPoints
10,000-14,999 SparkPoints
 
 





My husband and I , summer 2007 (165 lbs)





My parents, brother and sister and I at Mom and Dad's 50th in 2010



I have 28 pics in my gallery





Awards






 
helenChristine's exercise and eating journey

Hi! I'm Helen.

I have a wonderful husband and 5 children. Each one has a completely different personality and different strengths and weaknesses, so they keep me hopping, trying to parent them all in their own ways... We live in NJ and we homeschool. I was born in Brazil to missionary parents and went to high school and college in Wisconsin. I studied Music Therapy in college and then worked with Alzheimer's patients for 5 years before having children.

I started ...
Hi! I'm Helen.

I have a wonderful husband and 5 children. Each one has a completely different personality and different strengths and weaknesses, so they keep me hopping, trying to parent them all in their own ways... We live in NJ and we homeschool. I was born in Brazil to missionary parents and went to high school and college in Wisconsin. I studied Music Therapy in college and then worked with Alzheimer's patients for 5 years before having children.

I started the Gabriel Method of weight loss in March 2014. I now have added Dr. Fuhrman's eating plan and the weight is coming off effortlessly. I can eat all I want and I love the foods. I feel wonderful. I feel a wonderful empty feeling and I think it's the absence of inflammation. I do not miss meat, dairy, eggs or sugar. I'm still working on the salt. I do Whole Woman Yoga and strength training. I also enjoy riding the exercise bike and doing the Leslie Sansone walk at home videos. My attitude towards eating and exercise have changed. It is a joy to eat foods that make me feel great. I don't feel the sting of sacrifice. It is not a cross to bear, but a joy. My exercises are highlights in my day.

I try to follow the flylady's advice in decluttering and cleaning my home.

We are Christians. Jesus has always been my best friend.
Read More About HELENCHRISTINE (Updated November 23)




SparkFriends



SparkTeams



My Ticker:

 current weight: 183.0 
 
201
184.5
168
151.5
135


 
Interact with HELENCHRISTINE

Send Member a Private Message







Recent Blogs:





 
Profile

Member Since: 2/18/2008

SparkPoints: 12,884

Fitness Minutes: 11,342

My Goals:
My goals...
1. To obey God in my eating.
2. To exercise every day
3. To keep my house tidy and clean
4. To train the children to love and honor God and love and honor people.
These are my areas in life that need work, at least right now. There are probably many more, but that's enough for now! LOL!

My Program:
I am following the Gabriel method.

Personal Information:
I live in New Jersey. I spent high school and college years in Wisconsin and was born and raised in Brazil, a daughter of missionaries from Minnesota.

Other Information:
I am a homeschool Mom of 5 children. We do very little extra-curricular stuff. I love to be at home. I am married to the most wonderful man in the world. We were married in 1994 and are still in the honeymoon phase!

Profile Image





 
 



Fresh Veggies
From:
LCERTUCHE

Rose
From:
LIKINMENOW

Snowflake
From:
LOSINGLINNDY

Snowman
From:
FLYbabies

Hug
From:
REENSKI

Welcome Banner
From:
SHARSUE




Member Comments:
GGRSPARK
6/15/2015 2:05:40 AM

Oh my... That is a tall order. Is anyone old enough to get involved with food prep ? I had problems with two kids...it is bound to improve.



Report Inappropriate Comment
LCERTUCHE
6/11/2015 8:58:36 PM

I had to laugh when I read about getting your 5 children onboard with your nutritarian lifestyle. I know what you mean. I have 7 in all and everyone has something they hate that someone else loves (for example mushrooms). I remind them I am not a short-order cook and you can always choose not to eat whatever I serve. Of course this doesn't mean they don't sneak into the refrigerator later, LOL. Choose your battles. All I ask is that they must take three regular bites of whatever. Oftentimes they end up going ahead and eating the entire serving after three bites and maybe ask for seconds. Some children are more stubborn than others. My 12-year-old son insists he hates mushrooms but if they are blended, he eats them without complaining. I don't mention the mushrooms and he eats without complaining. You will never please everyone.



Report Inappropriate Comment
LCERTUCHE
5/18/2015 6:46:58 PM

I saw an old post of you writing about the difficulty finding varied diet. I am new to vegan cooking and eating. I hope things are better now for you. I have been eating salads (of course), all kinds of vegetables and fruits, multi-grain bread, spaghetti with marinara sauce, veggie burgers veggie bean burgers, veggie chili. Next week I think I'll have taco's and/or burritos, homemade veggie bean burgers with tomatoes, onion, pickles, lettuce, and multi-grain bread. I have been looking at a lot of recipes on the internet. It is going to take some planning but I'm sure after a few weeks it will get easier.



Report Inappropriate Comment
DS9KIE
12/9/2014 10:13:21 AM

Hey I have seen you post on several team that you had some problem with cooking...oh boy I know how you feel...so I was wondering what your making? Is it that it not seasoned enough, ect.

I also see you want a place to chat so you can go here on eat to live to chat

http://www.sparkpeople.com/myspark/team_
messageboard_thread.asp?board=0x1024x5
7903978

well at least I will be there...lol

Have a great day emoticon



Report Inappropriate Comment
THINANDFITEMILY
11/29/2014 11:26:56 AM

emoticon If you find one that is active and you love let me know. I like the support to eat the E2L way but there is not much chat there. Are you still doing a BLC challenge?
I heard that the new team is a combo and is the Golden Phoenix team. I am going to give it my best shot this challenge on Grey and am, hoping for 15 pounds loss and btw I think that is fantastic that you did that in the fall!
I will miss you too and so many from the Turquoise team. Seems so weird to not be part of it. And it seems so strange that the Turquoise team is not here. I do love the Grey wolves as I think I don't have enough time to be part of too many teams though and they have quite a few things right on that team to get me motivated.
All the best! Yes lets keep in touch.
emoticon



Comment edited on: 11/29/2014 11:27:35 AM

Report Inappropriate Comment
Member Comments Page (197 total):  123Next >Last >>

See My SparkFavorites Report Inappropriate Page