4,000-5,499 SparkPoints 4,084

In Monteverde, Costa Rica in Jan 2008 - 275 lbs (my lowest weight in about 10 years)

June 2009

Dec 2009 - after I cut off all my hair to donate to the cancer clinic


Heart Rate Monitor

Foam Hand


Interact with GETTIN_SVELT
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment

Nov 2010: I suppose itís time to update this page since Iím just over the 6 month point in this journey. So I joined SparkPeople on May15 hoping to change my life, and make big changes to my daily eating and activity habits. Itís amazing what can happen in 6 months, and Iím excited to see how much more I can do in the next 6 months.

At the beginning of August I got hired to manage an Internet cafť onboard a cruise ship, so that is where I am currently living. It was a big transition for me, but a dream that I never thought possible come true. Iíve been onboard now for just over 3 months with less than 8 weeks left on my contract. Itís been exciting and challenging all at the same time. Through it all Iím continuing to strive for better health.

The changes that have happened in the past 6 months:
* Iíve lost 50 lbs!
* Iíve gone from size 24 to in between sizes 18 & 20.
* I can walk up several flights of stairs without dying
* I can use the elliptical for over 25 minutes at a time
* I can walk for hours
* I can fit in an airplane seat
* I smile more

Hereís some goals that I hope to accomplish in the next 6 months:
* Iíd like to lose another 50 lbs
* Iím going to restart the C25K programÖ and finish it this time
* Iím going to run a 5K
* Iím going to start training to run a 10K
* When Iím below 235 lbs Iím going to go skydiving (thatís their max weight limit)
* Iím also going to register to be a bone marrow donor (have to be under 230 for this)

Itís amazing that I wasted so many years on ďfad dietsĒ that work while youíre on them, but make you gain more weight than when you started once you stop them. This has been so much easier than I anticipated that it seems strange that I didnít just do it this way in the first place. And I feel better, and Iím happier, and it just makes sense.


June 2010: I've officially been on SparkPeople for two weeks now, and I'm absolutely in love. The amount of information and support on here is unlike anything I've ever experienced.
I'm really enjoying learning to cook healthy foods, and learning to love exercising.
My greatest accomplishment so far is completing W1D1 of the C25K program. It's all about pushing your limits, and proving to yourself that you can accomplish things that you never thought possible.

Member Since: 5/16/2010

My Goals:
Starting weight - 315
1st goal - 283.5 (-10%)
2nd goal - 255
3rd goal - 229.5
4th goal - 206.5
5th goal - 186

My Program:
I'm following the Sparkpeople Bootcamp every single day.
In addition, I'm learning to run with the C25K club, so will be running three days/week.
I also attend Curves three days/week alternating with my running days.

Personal Information:
Lori's Fun Facts:

I am 33 years old.
I live on the west coast of Canada.
I drive a pretty green Vespa named Isabella.
I've recently returned to school to take my TESOL certificate to teach English overseas.
I'm learning to speak Spanish.
I love to travel!

Other Information:
Lori's Favourites:

Favourite Books: the entire Harry Potter series
Favourite Author: John Irving
Favourite Movie: Magnolia
Favourite Food: anything chocolate
Favourite Colour: blue
Favourite City: San Francisco
Favourite Country: Costa Rica

Read More About GETTIN_SVELT - Profile Information moved here. (Updated November 24)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
This user doesn't belong to any groups
Secrets of Success
This user doesn't have any secrets of success.
My Ticker:
 current weight: 306.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (37):  123Next >Last >>