DENISESP5

SparkPoints
 
Photos

Sadie Mae




Bailey Renee'




My grandbabies


Awards

 
Interact with DENISESP5
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts


On January 13, 2006, I started my journey to take my life back.
A year earlier I was diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes and an extremely high triglyceride count of over 1,000. It was a scare, and so I started eating healthier and lost 30 pounds. The triglycerides came down to the 300's and my doctor was pleased. But, I fell back into bad habits and gained the weight back. The triglycerides shot back up and so did the blood sugar.
On January 8th of last year, I had a visit from my older brother who was also battling diabetes. He had lost over 70 pounds!!! He ever so gently warned me of the dangers that diabetes could have on my body. Something clicked in my brain and I thought, "If he can do it, so can I." So, on January 13th of 2006, I started my journey to better health.
By September 2006 I was 63 pounds lighter, walking three miles daily, and using 8 pound weights to tone my upper body. I need to lose another 18 pounds, and learn how to maintain my weight loss. I would also like to turn my walking into jogging.
Oh, by the way, my triglycerides are now 182 and my blood sugar is in the 80's every morning.


Member Since: 12/26/2006

My Goals:
I want to be in the best shape a woman of 53 years can be. I want to wear stylish clothes and look nice in them. I want people to see me and not my body. I don't want others to say....."She'd be pretty if she would just lost some weight."


My Program:
On Janurary 13, 2006, I started my journey to better health. After losing 25 pounds, I started walking....a little at a time. I then added 8 pound weights to tone my upper body. By September I had lost 63 pounds and was still doing well...walking/jogging three miles-5-6 days a week. Then I hit a bump in the road. My right arm started hurting and on December 15, 2006, I had to have surgery for torn cartilage. Everthing is kinda on hold until my arm heals. I started back to walking/jogging but won't be able to use my weights for awhile....bummer!!!!



Personal Information:
I am a wife of 31 years, mother of a 30 year old son, and nana to two wonderful granddaughters, 4 years and 21 months. I live in southeastern Oklahoma and have been in the field of education for the past 28 years....a school counselor for the last 12 years.


Other Information:




Read More About DENISESP5 - Profile Information moved here.




Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:


My Program:


Personal Information:


Other Information:


Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
Blogs
This user doesn't have any public blog entries.
My Ticker:
 
Login to Leave Comment
Comments
Member Comments (7):  12Next >