DEBDJ57

SparkPoints
 
Awards

 
Interact with DEBDJ57
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts


I'm a country girl , a little over weight and not as firm as I once was!
I have 3 children and a wonderful husband. Unfortunately he is gone a lot, due to his work for the power comapny. I'm a retired account rep for a communication company. I eat a lot from boredom, and also I'm the unlucky recipient of a under active thyroid. I put on a lot of my weight because of the condition, and it was along time before the problem was diagnosed. Well that's enough of the sob story. I just want to be healthy and enjoy life to the fullest!! I've started going to the gym 3 times a week. I walk 3 miles each time and also do a little on the bike, unfortunately the weather currently has me snowed in, 5 inches of the white stuff. I feel a little closed in. It is hard to stay motivated because every time I get going good something seems to interrrupt it.
Well I think I've added my two cents worth, has anybody got any suggestions?


Member Since: 1/22/2009

Fitness Minutes: 1,061

My Goals:
My goals are to feel great and to just keep moving. I want to hike in most if not all of our 50 states, after my spouse retires. I currently want to get in the habit of going to the gym 3 times a week. I also want to be able to walk on the treadmill 5 to 6 miles nonstop without getting winded. I also hope to lose 20 to 30 pounds and to firm up.


My Program:
I am currently trying to go to the gym 3 times a week.Unfortunately I'm snow bound right now, but this to shall pass.
I am trying to watch my food intake a little closer,as I am currently eating more greens,such a kale and salads. I've almost altogether given up butter for smart balance. I also try to eat more fruits.



Personal Information:
I will be 57 this month. I am married with 3 grown children, all of which have really been a true blessing. My spouse works for a utility and I took a early retirement from my job as an account rep, due to some health problems, one of which was my thyroid. The condition was't diagnosed for a long time. I believe that is one of the reasons for my weight gain.
I live in a rural area and my children and grandchild live out of state


Other Information:
I like scary movies, walking in the park or hiking. I also like spending time with my kids and grandchild. I like cooking and really enjoy learning. I recently took classes at the community college. I especially like math. I took algebra and trig. I'm not great at the trig,but like challenging my mind!




Read More About DEBDJ57 - Profile Information moved here.




Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:


My Program:


Personal Information:


Other Information:


Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
Blogs
This user doesn't have any public blog entries.
SparkFriends
SP_STAFF          
Secrets of Success
This user doesn't have any secrets of success.
My Ticker:
 current weight: 180.0 
 
180
180
180
180
180
Login to Leave Comment
Comments
  • v ALANHUDSON
    Hi,I se your looking for suggestions.
    Have you thought about getting a treadmill,or elliptical for home for when your housebound?
    I know I don't like going to the mall,I'm just not comfortable with all the other people,so I use my treadmill. But I use it everyday and I try to watch what I eat,and slowly I'm losing.
    Well,hope this helps,and if I come up with anything else I'll let you know.
    God bless.
    2845 days ago
  • v RUNNINGSLOW
    Welcome to SparkPeople and best wishes to you on your journey to a healthier you!
    2861 days ago