CAMBCRANE  
SparkPoints
 
   


I have 0 pics in my gallery





Awards






 
Just Me -- Nothing much else

Hi! My name is JoAnn and I live in northern Virginia. I'm new to SparkPeople and am hoping my participation here will help me to lose approximately 40 pounds.

I'm divorced (and have been for so long it's probably not even worth mentioning anymore) and my 22 year old daughter recently moved out to live with friends -- leaving me with no one to cook for but myself and the 2 dogs (I've got 5 cats, too, but I don't cook for them).

For both nutritional and economic reasons, ...
Hi! My name is JoAnn and I live in northern Virginia. I'm new to SparkPeople and am hoping my participation here will help me to lose approximately 40 pounds.

I'm divorced (and have been for so long it's probably not even worth mentioning anymore) and my 22 year old daughter recently moved out to live with friends -- leaving me with no one to cook for but myself and the 2 dogs (I've got 5 cats, too, but I don't cook for them).

For both nutritional and economic reasons, I am trying desperately to near-eliminate meat from my diet. To this end, I've more or less put my crockpot into overdrive by simply just filling it up with vegetables, sometimes some dried beans (and oftentimes 1 piece of meat, either a pork chop or a boneless chicken breast), some broth and some herbs and spices and letting it do it's thing. I usually eat just as much as I want to over 2 days and then simply pour the rest of it over "the girls'" food dish.

While I have, in fact, already lost 20 lbs. doing it this way, it can get to be pretty BORING pretty fast. I mean, how much celery and how many onions and carrots, broccoli and cauliflower is a grown woman REALLY expected to eat???




SparkFriends



SparkTeams



My Ticker:

 current weight: 172.0 
 
194
182
170
158
146


 
Interact with CAMBCRANE

Send Member a Private Message







Recent Blogs:





 
Profile

Member Since: 10/3/2008

SparkPoints: 0

Fitness Minutes: 325

My Goals:
I began this JOURNEY the day my scale tipped over 205 lbs.

My goal is 145 lbs. -- the weight I was at approximately 20 years ago.

I DON'T want to be 20 years younger (good for me, because THAT is just not going to happen!). Nor do I WANT to look like I did then (ditto).

I just want to FEEL GOOD ABOUT MYSELF again.

And, in my opinion, that means I'm going to have to weigh significantly less than 205 lbs. and much closer to 145.

My Program:
I've already lost approx. 20 lbs. by simply stuffing my crockpot with lots of vegetables (including celery, carrots, onions and a potato, some "other" green vegetable -- sometimes zucchini, sometimes spinach, broccoli, kale, collards or escarole, etc. -- and some sort of dried bean),"flavoring that up" with bouillon and/or stock plus whatever spices/herbs I have on hand and letting the utensil do what it does best.

To date, I've "created" a decent number of tasty meals. But I SURE do miss my Pizza!!!!

Personal Information:
My name is JoAnn. I am 57 years old. I was born in NYC and lived there until I turned 40. I've subsequently lived in NJ, OK and FL and currently reside in Manassas, VA.

I have one daughter. She's 22 years old and recently moved out to live with friends.



 
 


Member Comments:
BARKSHIREWOODS
5/7/2009 4:02:02 AM

The Woman Challenge is a national campaign to encourage women about health and fitness and is free.

http://www.4women.gov/woman/

The "Challenge" is from Mother's Day until the 4th of July. If you join and don't already have a team you'd like to be on, feel free to join team "Barks".

We also have a chat area for the Woman Challenge at SparkPeople.

http://teams.sparkpeople.com/woman



Report Inappropriate Comment

See My SparkFavorites Report Inappropriate Page