BKWERM
100,000-149,999 SparkPoints 142,726
SparkPoints
 
Photos

Joanna through the years




Me at my heaviest in 1998




Me at 18


SparkGoodies

Welcome Banner
From:
Black Panthers ...

New Book
From:
_LINDA

Heart
From:
ROCKPORT9
Awards

BKWERM is a SparkPeople Motivator!

See All SparkPeople Motivators
Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
 
Interact with BKWERM
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts


2017 Goals
- lose 10 pounds
- get under a BMI of 30
- read one book a week
- hike 3 days a week
- ST 3 days a week
- do yoga or tai chi at least one day a week

More INFO about me...

I am 56 years old and I started at 264 pounds in 1998 and have been trying to get down to 150 pounds since then.

I have rheumatoid autoimmune disease (RA), which sometimes makes it difficult to exercise but I know that I always feel better afterwards. Sometimes you just have to push yourself to get going and once you're going, the pain often goes away.

I've been married for 34 years and counting. We had one 18-year-old cat named Ogoni who died in March and no kids by choice.

I'm close to my family. I have dinner and play Scrabble at my Dad's house every Friday night and visit with my 4 younger sisters regularly.

I'm a music-a-holic especially alternative-rock and classic rock.

I love reading. My favourite genres are mysteries, romantic suspense and YA fantasy and sci-fi novels.

I also love reading cookbooks and fitness books.

I love exercising to DVDs and have over 150 workouts. My favourite forms of exercise are strength training, dance, kickboxing, hiking and swimming.

I love native art and most of the art in our house is of the native sort.

I used to love gardening until my RA took a lot of the joy out of it so now all my gardens are in pots. I usually grow various herbs, tomatoes and geraniums.

I enjoy cooking when I have the time and I love trying new recipes and I have a filing cabinet drawer full of recipes plus two shelves on the bookshelf filled with cookbooks. I typically cook all my meals for the week on Sundays so I don't have to cook after work, which I hate doing.

I hate being cold and have told DH that more than anything, I want to become a snowbird when we're retired (live somewhere warmer than Canada during the winter months). In the meantime, I go to the Caribbean with my dad for one week every February.

I have a wonderful job working for wonderful people. I'm the Admin Secretary for our municipal water and sewer maintenance department. One of the perks of my job that I especially like is that I'm the only woman and get treated like the Queen Bee and that makes me very happy.


Member Since: 9/8/2007

Fitness Minutes: 141,236

My Goals:
To lose 10 pounds by the end of 2017.
To read a book a week in 2017.


My Program:
To follow the SparkPeople program.
To exercise for a minimum of 30 minutes a day 5 times a week incorporating strength-training along with cardio.
To drink 6 cups of water a day.
To limit junk food/bad fats.



Personal Information:
I live in Ontario, Canada with my husband, named Jake. I have no kids by choice but 13 nieces and nephews, whom I love and spoil. My birthday is May 12, 1960 and I've been married to Jake since March 24, 1984.

I'm an Administrative Secretary for our local municipal government. I work in the section where our guys repair watermains and sewers and I'm the only woman in our section and I LOVE it!


Other Information:
Favourite colour: red
Favourite book: The Stone Angel by Margaret Laurence
Favourite movie: Benny & Joon
Favourite season: Spring
Favourite number: 8
Email: bkwerm@gmail.com




Read More About BKWERM - Profile Information moved here. (Updated April 11)




Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:


My Program:


Personal Information:


Other Information:


Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
Current Status:
My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 73.9 
 
0
28.5
57
85.5
114
Login to Leave Comment
Comments
  • v KAREN2LOSE55
    Wow Joanna, that's really quite good that you found out that Ritixan could be the culprit for all your coughing, etc. I'm glad that your RA appt. is so soon. As far as the Xeljanz, my co-pay is $1!! Phizer is giving this much assistance because I'm on Obama Health care too. I can get this assistance for up to 12 months and then I don't know what I'll do. They've cleared me until January of 2017, so I'll see then. You'll be able to get the co-pay assistance card with starting it and it can get as low as $1. It depends on what your health insurance will do too, along with Phizer. You'll have to let me know what your Rheumy says and I'm wishing you the best!! emoticon
    207 days ago
  • v BABYSTEPS123
    Thanks Joanna! I knew it was simple, but I forgot to look at the tabs!
    216 days ago
  • v ELIZINJAPAN
    Something I like about you is that you are always so encouraging to everyone! I really appreciate you!
    227 days ago
  • v ELSAT137
    All of those things are already on the ONTS...
    244 days ago
  • v _BACK2BASICS_
    Joanna~ Hope you are really enjoying the weekend with your sister. Thanks so very much for taking the time to check out my blog and your support. emoticon
    257 days ago
Member Comments (1151):  < Previous12345Next >Last >>