Author: Sorting Last Post on Top Message:
1THIRTY3 Posts: 308
2/11/10 11:14 A

gelatin is in a lot of other things you eat on a daily basis too. Most of your pills contain gelatin.

GPENSRAE Posts: 1,089
2/9/10 4:42 P

Well now that is just gross, I'll never look at jello or gummy bears the same way.

MYREALANA SparkPoints: (30,217)
Fitness Minutes: (21,950)
Posts: 3,855
2/9/10 12:55 P

Yummy yummy pig parts!

You get the same effect when you simmer a turkey or chicken carcass for hours to get stock. The bones and cartilige release their collagen which gelatinizes and creates that thick, viscous mouth-feel of homemade stock. If you concentrate and then refrigerate them, you have what looks like chicken Jell-o.

Oh, but it's good stuff!


"If you can't do something smart, do something right." --
Shepherd Book
MUM-BUM Posts: 644
2/9/10 12:49 P

there is a vegetarian version of gelatin, but you have to really look for it.
I am not a vegetarian, but don't eat jello. Just not appealing.

1THIRTY3 Posts: 308
2/9/10 12:45 P

if that really grosses you out you can always get vegan marshmallows or gelatinous stuff- or make things yourself using agar agar.

FOXMOON Posts: 822
2/9/10 12:42 P

I don't have gummi things for that reason, haha. I'm vegetarian, not vegan, but the thought of gelatin kind of squicks me out, so I avoid it as much as possible.

If you like Sour Patch Kids, though, the are vegan! They use corn or potato starch to gum up instead of using gelatin. I get them at the movies if I feel like having something. Starbursts are vegan, too!

..*) .*)
(. (.` Fox

Happily in maintenance!

"Practice becomes firmly grounded when continued for a long time, without interruption and with reverent devotion."
PAPERMOON2 SparkPoints: (752)
Fitness Minutes: (250)
Posts: 207
2/9/10 12:52 A

Oooooooh okay yeah I never knew that. In teresting. emoticon

KALORIE-KILLAH SparkPoints: (0)
Fitness Minutes: (19,921)
Posts: 5,261
2/8/10 10:09 P

Yup, that's what gelatin is. That's why vegans don't eat anything gelatinous... because gelatin is an animal by-product.

A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.
~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~
Check out my blog:
Follow me on RunKeeper:
2/8/10 9:34 P

Yep, those kinds of foods are made with gelatin which comes from the collagen from animals bones/skin. Collagen doesnt have any flavor so it just gives things like jello, marshmallows and other squishy sweets and treats that jiggly, squishy or gummy texture!

"Only when we are no longer afraid do we begin to live" ~ Dorothy Thompson

"Imperfection is beauty, madness is genius and it's better to be absolutely ridiculous than absolutely boring." ~ Marilyn Monroe
PAPERMOON2 SparkPoints: (752)
Fitness Minutes: (250)
Posts: 207
2/8/10 9:18 P

I was watching Modern Marvels and they were telling how different snacks are made and they mentioned that Gummy candy like Gummy Bears and Gummy worms and Jello are made from pork skins! OMG! I had no idea! That's just something to think about! emoticon

Page: 1 of (1)  

Other Diet and Nutrition Topics:

Topics: Last Post:
BUYER BEWARE: ZAXBY'S 6/27/2014 9:32:43 AM
Raw Food Recipes 9/16/2014 8:14:51 PM
Halloween Candy - Just Say No! 11/1/2014 4:09:38 PM
Timing of snacks 9/2/2014 8:51:03 PM
I love the breakdowns 7/24/2014 8:23:09 PM